Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2020, 09:04 AM   #1
debruina
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Beuningen Gld
My Country: Nederland
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9
Default Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Hi,

I need some help with a Philips 37PFL8605 board. TV has no image and gives error 53. Voltages are all ok. If i connect a uart it gives the below output.

FSBL-CI+ 550 (007)TLB-DONE
FLASH RESET
SECUREBOOT-ENABLED
U▒U
UBOOT-OK1

U-Boot 2009.01_Production (Jul 05 2010 - 11:09:21)

DRAM: 512 MB
NAND: 512 MiB
Bad block table found at page 262080, version 0x02
Bad block table found at page 262016, version 0x02
ECC failed step 0
nand_bbt: ECC error while reading bad block table
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x000c0000
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x005c0000
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x00c80000

< lots of the same lines of errors here 3 or 4 pages>

nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x1fec0000
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x1ffe0000
.Env: NAND @ 0x00580000
In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
Model: M1 (a1530100)
bootcmd1
BOOTREASON=coldboot
Sending: 00 04 00 02 05 00
Sending: 00 04 00 02 05 01
Creating 1 MTD partitions on "NAND 512MiB 3,3V 8-bit":
0x00b00000-0x07980000 : "mtd=2"
UBI: attaching mtd0 to ubi0
UBI: physical eraseblock size: 131072 bytes (128 KiB)
UBI: logical eraseblock size: 126976 bytes
UBI: smallest flash I/O unit: 2048
UBI: VID header offset: 2048 (aligned 2048)
UBI: data offset: 4096
UBI warning: init_volumes: static volume 0 misses 4 LEBs - corrupted
UBI warning: init_volumes: static volume 1 misses 15 LEBs - corrupted
UBI error: init_volumes: not enough PEBs, required 844, available 841
UBI error: ubi_wl_init_scan: no enough physical eraseblocks (-3, need 1)
UBI error: ubi_init: cannot attach mtd0
UBI error: ubi_init: UBI error: cannot initialize UBI, error -12
UBI init error -12

My first guess was that the NAND had so many badblocks it had no longer enough room to create the MTD partition. So i made a dump of the original nand and wrote it back to a new NAND chip. However i have exact same problem. If i check the original nand on bad blocks then there are only a few. No i am wondering if the error is maybe about another flash device.

So maybe someone can explain a bit better what happens here. I assume it is still running in bootloader. Also maybe someone has a known working nand image.

Regards
Arnold

Last edited by debruina; 05-15-2020 at 09:07 AM..
debruina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 12:14 PM   #2
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,497
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

maybe there is too much corruption on your dump. The flash is too far gone, or something important got corrupted. Try to find a dump online and copy that on the new flash.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 01:00 PM   #3
debruina
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Beuningen Gld
My Country: Nederland
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

I am still new at this nand stuff, so maybe a silly question. I don't really understand how a new nand chip has the same bad block errors in the log?

I can see how the OS maybe is too corrupted for boot but i would have expected a different log after replacing the nand chip. Or did i actually somehow copy all the bad blocks/marks to the new nand chip? I tried finding a dump on the internet but so far no luck
debruina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2020, 07:08 AM   #4
debruina
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Beuningen Gld
My Country: Nederland
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Did some additional research. If you make a hardcopy than apparently you copy everything over to the new nand. So i used another option in the programmer: skip bad blocks and reallign, soldered this new chip onto the board and it booted. No more bad blocks and linux boots. But as expected parts are corrupted. The TV goes into a reboot loop because the tv application won't start/crashes and it restarts the OS. Also trying to recover from USB doesn't work because of a missing recovery volume. Ah well. i learned a few new things
debruina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2020, 07:13 AM   #5
William1967
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: Eindhoven
My Country: Netherlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Error 53. This error will indicate that the PNX8550 has
read his bootscript (when this would have failed, error 15
would blink) but initialization was never completed because
of hardware problems (NAND flash, ...) or software
initialization problems. Possible cause could be that there
is no valid software loaded (try to upgrade to the latest main
software version).
William1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2020, 04:26 PM   #6
debruina
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Beuningen Gld
My Country: Nederland
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by William1967 View Post
Error 53. This error will indicate that the PNX8550 has
read his bootscript (when this would have failed, error 15
would blink) but initialization was never completed because
of hardware problems (NAND flash, ...) or software
initialization problems. Possible cause could be that there
is no valid software loaded (try to upgrade to the latest main
software version).
Yeah I know. The nand is bad and i need a nand dump of a working board
debruina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 11:48 AM   #7
debruina
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Beuningen Gld
My Country: Nederland
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Made some progress. I found a NAND image for this model and loaded it into a new NAND. The TV is now booting and i have a image, home menu and everything seems to work. But after 30/40 seconds it reboots and everything starts over. The last log message is:

00 <5>~000029603 Get key
00 <5>~000029603 Number of Keys found 4
00 <5>~000029824 ChanDec: FEL=0, UNCOR=0
00 <2> 000030094 Exception in process 226: address not mapped to object
00 <2> 000030095 EPC = 0x2e25c4f8
00 <2> 000030095 RA = 0x2e25dde8
00 <2> 000030096 BADVA = 0x12345678
SYSLOG: DEBUG DUMP 000000: Exception: address not mapped to object, process = /philips/apps/ceplfapp (226), epc = 0x2e25c4f8, ra = 0x2e25dde8, time = N/A, millis = 30094, SW version = Q5551-0.140.48.0 Release
00 <3> 000030129 DEBUG DUMP 000000: Exception: address not mapped to object, process = /philips/apps/ceplfapp (226), epc = 0x2e25c4f8, ra = 0x2e25dde8, time = N/A, millis = 30094, SW version = Q5551-0.140.48.0 Release
Flush prints
00 <5>~000031570 **************** bootmode == 11 *****************
00 <5>~000031574 /proc/pnx8xxx/boot_allowed_mode opened
Restarting system.
debruina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 12:34 PM   #8
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,181
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Anything here of any help? https://monitor.net.ru/forum/threads/456325/page-2
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 01:25 PM   #9
debruina
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Beuningen Gld
My Country: Nederland
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Yeah i noticed that page. One person said the Standby μP is somehow locked in software and if you replace the standby controller you get this fault. Now i didn't change the controller but of course the software dump is from a different board (same model). It is possible that the Standby μP is rebooting the TV because it finds a mismatch with software keys or something.

I tried a software update. That didn't work with the bad NAND because of corrupted update software. However i tried updating the software with this new nand and that worked. However it is still rebooting.
debruina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:21 AM   #10
debruina
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Beuningen Gld
My Country: Nederland
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9
Default Re: Philips 37PFL8605 not booting

Update this thread because maybe one day it will help someone.

I found a compleet set of firmware images for this model. A NAND, NVM and the bootrom. I replaced them all because the person that made the dump said that NAND FLASH must be paired with IC 7F52 = 25P05 and IC 7F58 = 24C64, otherwise it gives different errors, ie mainly the TV restarts after a few seconds. But somehow I still have the same problem. Everything seems to work. It powers up, shows Philips logo, i can go into the home menu and then it reboots.

Error in uArt:
00 <5>~000032922 Get key
00 <5>~000032922 Number of Keys found 4
00 <5>~000032923 1. baglength 249
00 <5>~000032923 2. baglength 245
00 <5>~000032923 3. baglength 241
00 <5>~000032923 4. baglength 225
00 <5>~000032924 Get key
00 <5>~000032924 Number of Keys found 4
00 <2> 000033452 Exception in process 226: address not mapped to object
00 <2> 000033452 EPC = 0x2e25c4f8
00 <2> 000033453 RA = 0x2e25dde8
00 <2> 000033453 BADVA = 0x12345678
SYSLOG: DEBUG DUMP 000017: Exception: address not mapped to object, process = /philips/apps/ceplfapp (226), epc = 0x2e25c4f8, ra = 0x2e25dde8, time = N/A, millis = 33451, SW version = Q5551-0.140.48.0 Release
00 <3> 000033508 DEBUG DUMP 000017: Exception: address not mapped to object, process = /philips/apps/ceplfapp (226), epc = 0x2e25c4f8, ra = 0x2e25dde8, time = N/A, millis = 33451, SW version = Q5551-0.140.48.0 Release
Flush prints
00 <5>~000034960 **************** bootmode == 11 *****************
00 <5>~000034964 /proc/pnx8xxx/boot_allowed_mode opened
Restarting system.

So i guess maybe the board is somehome paired with the software or still something else is bad. If i go into the CSM menu it dumps a config file on USB i noticed it doesn't have a ID or number behind the 200Hz board. Could be normal but this model has a 200Hz board.

1.1 Set type :46PFL8605H/12
1.2 Production code :VN1D1030004379
1.3 Installed date :06/10/2017
1.4a Options 1 :04100 13341 12479 08383
1.4b Options 2 :43782 34311 00030 00000
1.5 12NC SSB :310432864982
1.6 12NC display :932227888682
1.7 12NC supply :272217190198
1.8 12NC 200 Hz board :
1.9 12NC AV PIP :
2.1 Current main software :Q5551_0.140.48.0
2.2 Standby software :STDBY_75.63.0.0
2.3 e-UM version :310432700355

2.6 AV PIP software :
2.7 3D dongle software :
3.1 Signal quality :Bad
3.4 Ethernet MAC address :00:00:00:00:00:00
3.5 Wireless MAC address :00:00:00:00:00:00
3.6 BDS key :Not present
3.7 CI module :No
3.8 CI+ protected service :No
3.10 Event counter :S:011b 011b H:0001 0008

If you want this firmwareset send me message.

Last edited by debruina; 05-23-2020 at 03:23 AM..
debruina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?