Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2006, 02:46 PM   #41
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by japlytic
In the L&C LC-B450E 450W supply, the 330uF 200V primary capacitors are inadequate for a supply of this size.
And those primary capacitors are also generic (has some logo that is the planet saturn) caps.
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition 3.3GHz Six-Core CPU (Socket AM3)
ASUS M4A77TD AMD 770 AM3 Motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 Graphics Card
G.SKILL Value Series 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD (x2)
WD Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-750M 750W ATX12V v2.32 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Antec Three Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 03:02 PM   #42
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,435
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by japlytic
In the L&C LC-B450E 450W supply, the 330uF 200V primary capacitors are inadequate for a supply of this size. They should be at least 680uF.
Please explain why, I live to learn

From this thread: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1202

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson
Can someone more knowledgeable than me please comment on the very small rating of the Primary bulk cap, only 270uF, and 220uF in the 350w Seasonic?

Is it due to the active PFC or something? I mean I've seen Primary caps in L&C powersupplies with almost twice the farad rating!!!
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 06:32 AM   #43
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

New Dell Server PowerEdge 2800 which has 2x2.8Ghz dual core Xeons has PSU 930W!
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:58 AM   #44
gg1978
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
City & State: Jamestown, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 117VAC, 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 423
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Well, i was going to post pics of my Delta DPS 300BB, but it looks like larrymoencurly already has.. I bought a pair of them back when directron.com had them for $13 each.. I wish i would have bought at least 6 more of them..

They are perfect for running AMD socket A systems that are demanding of +5V and +3.3V. I've got one in my HTPC as a matter of fact, although it would probably work fine with a 250W PSU, i want that little HTPC to live a long and happy life, so it gets a server grade 300W Delta.

It's probably the best built PSU i've seen, when it comes to heatsinks, tons of toroids, and good quality capacitors. If only the 300BB had a +12V P4 connector, it would be powering my Athlon 64 also..


On the label, it says that you can have 245W max between the +3.3 and +5. I wish Delta would sell their stuff to end users. I'd love a 400W PCIexpress compliant one..
gg1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 01:54 AM   #45
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 950
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by gg1978
If only the 300BB had a +12V P4 connector, it would be powering my Athlon 64 also..
Do you mean you haven't added the connector to it? There's an unused hole in the circuit board for the pair of +12V wires, but for the ground wires I had to drill a hole really close to a capacitor. Sure, this PSU is rated for only 13.5A @ +12V, but they're honest amps.
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 11:02 AM   #46
BluBlur
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
City & State: Singapore
Posts: 43
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

I have a question. There are always very low capacitance (2.2 to 10uf), medium volted (25-50v) caps on PSUs. Some are found beside transformers, some near coils, etc. Should these caps remain during recapping, as some are hard to reach?
BluBlur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 03:46 PM   #47
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

These very little caps should be left alone since 470uf or 1000uf or more caps are affected. The very little caps aren't affected.
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 05:41 PM   #48
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 950
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

A bad Jamicon 1uF cap in my TV caused the picture to stretch at the bottom part. And several years ago, my then-fairly new cheapo PSU, maybe a Deer, a 1uF, 16V cap shorted, and after replacing it I borrowed my friend's scope and saw 50V spikes across it and a few other 16V caps.
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 11:15 PM   #49
linuxguru
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,294
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

You can leave most of the small caps alone, barring a few related to the ATX auxiliary supply, which generates +5VSB. There's a primary side flyback cap there that fails often - check the thread on Eurocase PSUs for more details.
linuxguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:38 PM   #50
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by dood
Thermaltake PUREPOWER-480AD ATX12V PSU


Fancy brushed aluminum plate... functionality? Guess again...


Teapo main caps...


And teapos on the other side too...

This PSU has not been used yet, so unsure of its reliability. I'd guess it's not too bad. Comes with a PCI plate or 5 1/4" drive bay filler for a fan speed knob, i think.
I think that was made by High Power, their HPC-480-102DF power supply has the same dual orange 80MM fans, black casing, and even the same amp ratings.

http://www.highpowersupply.com/produ...c480102df.html

High Power HPC-480-102DF


Dood's ThermalTake
Attached Images
File Type: jpg High Power.JPG (100.6 KB, 823 views)

Last edited by Newbie2; 02-02-2006 at 01:45 PM..
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 02:06 PM   #51
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu
powmax redundant.
note the burst cap in lower right.note the engrish on the label!
this is on +5stby.
this unit was in a hot spare server plugged in but not running.
if it were run any at all all the caps would have likely failed.
That Powmax redundant power supply has been known to give out a small puff of smoke, but work okay after the first turn-on.
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 02:10 PM   #52
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu
okia 450w
A search of the UL file number for that power supply (E194657) shows that the company is BROADWAY COM CORP, which is actually in the USA!

BROADWAY COM CORP
19715 E HARRISON AVE
CITY OF INDUSTRY, CA 91789 USA

TigerDirect sells an Okia 450W and it got 4 good reviews. On TigerDirect right now it is the 2nd best seller and it is usally the 4th or 3rd best seller on the best seller list for power supplies on TigerDirect.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...ab=11&NoMapp=0

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati....asp?CatId=106

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu
that okia unit was in a p4 2.8 with 6 hdd,2 opticals and lots of lights.
+5 was running 4.35!
it got hot enough to stink.
got a worse one than that to post later!
Where did you get that 4.35V reading on the +5V rail?

Did you use the motherboard voltage monitoring or did you use something that has more accurate readings?

Last edited by Newbie2; 02-22-2006 at 02:17 PM..
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 07:20 PM   #53
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,296
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newbie2
A search of the UL file number for that power supply (E194657) shows that the company is BROADWAY COM CORP, which is actually in the USA!

BROADWAY COM CORP
19715 E HARRISON AVE
CITY OF INDUSTRY, CA 91789 USA

TigerDirect sells an Okia 450W and it got 4 good reviews. On TigerDirect right now it is the 2nd best seller and it is usally the 4th or 3rd best seller on the best seller list for power supplies on TigerDirect.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...ab=11&NoMapp=0

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati....asp?CatId=106



Where did you get that 4.35V reading on the +5V rail?

Did you use the motherboard voltage monitoring or did you use something that has more accurate readings?
read from a drive cable with a fluke 77
and good reviews cant change the crap i see in this one!
and us oldtimers call them tigerdefect :-)
those reviews were likely posted by a shill.
and remember the cheapest is usually the best seller .
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 10:08 PM   #54
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,926
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Looks like Broadway Com Corp is an importer. Now, if you want to build a computer while on a backpacking trip, they might have everything you need.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 10:11 PM   #55
tylerlough
Member
 
tylerlough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 89
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1992
I have the same PSU, Tyler, it's a Dell/Lite-On unit. They sneezed all over the inside of the PSU.
That snot is better than a noisy singing PSU.
Must have been done by a girl because guys can aim.
tylerlough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 03:36 AM   #56
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,971
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Pictures of the FSP235-60GT are found on http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...ht=fsp235-60gt

Mine was built in 1998, and had smaller heatsinks than the ones in the link. It also had some "WC" brand capcitors, as seen on http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...3126#post13126

The first filtering capacitors for the +5V and +3.3V rails were Fuhjyyu TMR Series (3300uF 10V), with the output capacitors being Fuhjyyu TNR Series (4700uF 10V TNR for +3.3V; 3300uF 10V TNR for +5V). There was one "WC" branded capacitor (1000uF 16V) on the +12V rail - a bit inadequate.
__________________
My first choice in quality Japanese electrolytics is Nippon Chemi-Con, which has been in business since 1931... the quality of electronics is dependent on the quality of the electrolytics.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 03:17 AM   #57
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 950
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Should I be worried about this PSU found inside my external drive enclosure?

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...3626#post13626

It's not UL approved, and there's no room to add a line filter because the circuit board normally sits right next to the AC receptacle. Also the plastic sleeving of the black/gold cap at the far right was melted in a few places, and its leads had a big solder bridge between them -- on the top side of the PC board.

OTOH the USB-IDE controller is based on an NEC chip
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 09:50 AM   #58
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Looks like total POS.
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 11:55 AM   #59
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

those green caps are Koshin brand.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 06:05 PM   #60
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,971
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

That power supply looks like junk to me - the manufacturer had cut quite a few corners in it. There is also a Fcon capacitor in it as well. If there are no specifications on the supply, I recommend a good supply with 2A output each on 5V and 12V.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?