Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2020, 02:13 PM   #1
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default OMFG, I have real internet!!

The ISP has been laying fiber all over the place out here last year. They finally lit it all up. The connection I had (on a good day, I'm rural) was 1mbit (never achieved those speeds). It's now 40mbit!! HOLY DOG SHIT!!

That is all, carry on with life!
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 02:41 PM   #2
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 999
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Congrats!!
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 16GB Geil EVO X DDR4 3000, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,EVGA GTX 1080 SC, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 03:08 PM   #3
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,139
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

umm is your isp scamming u? 40mbps is too slow for fibre. 400mbps is a more realistic figure for fibre. better tell the isp to buck up! a lot of companies tend to slack off and not care about their customers or to continuously improve their services.

and congrats topcat! finally, u can now download pr0n faster like me!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 03:12 PM   #4
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
umm is your isp scamming u? 40mbps is too slow for fibre.
I wish I had fiber to the building.....but it's still DSL. They lit a node that's ~1100ft from me, whereas before the node was 15000ft from me. I'm sure that needs no further explanation!
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 04:13 PM   #5
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Nowhereland, Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120/2/[email protected]
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,590
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Used to have slow Verizon. About 20Mbps on a good day. Changed ISPs over the summer and we now get 20Mbps on a bad day, 55Mbps average, and around 65-70Mbps on a good day.
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

For computer parts, go to Newegg
OR
Amazon.

For electrical stuff(pushbuttons, capacitors, etc), use Digikey
OR
Mouser.

My computer doubles as a space heater.

Windows 10? Only if you like forced, buggy updates and 24/7 telemetry.

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.


TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 04:24 PM   #6
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

As rural as I am, Until today I was one step above carrier pigeons.....
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 04:48 PM   #7
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,179
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
The ISP has been laying fiber all over the place out here last year. They finally lit it all up. The connection I had (on a good day, I'm rural) was 1mbit (never achieved those speeds). It's now 40mbit!! HOLY DOG SHIT!!

That is all, carry on with life!
Congrats... I have 100mbit up and down... and that's the base level fiber :p

Jk.

Enjoy and happy torrenting!
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 04:51 PM   #8
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Congrats... I have 100mbit up and down... and that's the base level fiber :p

Jk.

Enjoy and happy torrenting!
I wish!! If I had that, I'd get a static IP and bring the BCN server home again!
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 05:05 PM   #9
dmill89
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Harrisburg, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
Posts: 1,763
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Congrats... I have 100mbit up and down... and that's the base level fiber :p

Jk.

Enjoy and happy torrenting!
About a year ago (last May) Fios upgraded me to 1gbps for what I was paying for 100mbps (largely because Comcast is offering the same in my area). I don't think I ever even took full advantage of the 100mbps but wasn't arguing with a "free" upgrade.

Congrats to TC though 1mbps must have been miserable in the modern era (especially with all the bandwidth hogging visual "crap" on most web pages today), 40mbps should be passible (honestly I got by just fine with 50mbps for years but Fios keeps throwing bandwidth at me, I'm glad I live in an area with competition though, some of my friends/coworkers in surrounding towns/counties that only have one major isp are paying a lot more for less bandwidth, and the unfortunate ones in the county that only has Century-Link are paying through the nose for horribly slow unreliable service).
dmill89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 05:06 PM   #10
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,181
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

So did they charge you more money for the extra speed? I know when my isp forced me from 1.5mb to 5mb they also uped the price and I had no choice.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 06:03 PM   #11
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
So did they charge you more money for the extra speed? I know when my isp forced me from 1.5mb to 5mb they also uped the price and I had no choice.
No, it was optional. I called and asked since they seemed to be done with all the fiber laying... It's 10 bucks a month more....glad to pay it. a sketchy 1mbit was miserable.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 06:39 PM   #12
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,191
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
a sketchy 1mbit was miserable.
For my region, even 12 years ago, it would mean something was very wrong.
When I only got 1 Mb down, it was probably a failed line, if not a failed DSLAM!

12 years ago, I normally got at least 10 Mb down and around 768 Kbps up.

The last time I had that kind of horse pucky with ADSL, it was because of a failed DSLAM-end, most likely. Even when I started randomly getting extreme bandwidth drops and at least once, major lag, after above-normal rain in a short time, IIRC, which the rain event occurred on September 30, 2010, possibly more rain on October 1, 2010.

But it was crawling at 1.5 Mb down in February, 2011 and it got fixed on February 8, 2011. (While the upload bandwidth stayed at roughly the same of course, a common DSL phenomenon, it seems.)
__________________
MSI B450 Tomahawk

Ryzen 7 "Matisse" 3700X

16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 SDRAM

XFX Radeon RX 580 8 GB

eVGA Supernova G3 750W



Received on November 4, 2019:
MSI GF63 Thin 9SC-649US


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 07:00 PM   #13
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,138
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

just checked my mobile connection .bit slow tonight .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 07:12 PM   #14
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
For my region, even 12 years ago, it would mean something was very wrong.
When I only got 1 Mb down, it was probably a failed line, if not a failed DSLAM!

12 years ago, I normally got at least 10 Mb down and around 768 Kbps up.

The last time I had that kind of horse pucky with ADSL, it was because of a failed DSLAM-end, most likely. Even when I started randomly getting extreme bandwidth drops and at least once, major lag, after above-normal rain in a short time, IIRC, which the rain event occurred on September 30, 2010, possibly more rain on October 1, 2010.

But it was crawling at 1.5 Mb down in February, 2011 and it got fixed on February 8, 2011. (While the upload bandwidth stayed at roughly the same of course, a common DSL phenomenon, it seems.)
Tell me all that nonsense when you live in the stix.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 07:18 PM   #15
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,191
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Tell me all that nonsense when you live in the stix.
When I lived in the stix in 2007, on May 17, 2007 to sometime in 2008, because I had 56K before May 17, 2007:

In the Cavendish and Chester region on Cavendish Gulf Rd., I would normally get around 5 Mbps down and around 768 Kbps up.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 07:39 PM   #16
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
When I lived in the stix in 2007, on May 17, 2007 to sometime in 2008, because I had 56K before May 17, 2007:

In the Cavendish and Chester region on Cavendish Gulf Rd., I would normally get around 5 Mbps down and around 768 Kbps up.
Welcome to rural MO.

When I lived in town ~12yrs ago I got 10mbit both ways.....I think the same company is offering gigabit now.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 07:57 PM   #17
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,191
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Welcome to rural MO.

When I lived in town ~12yrs ago I got 10mbit both ways.....I think the same company is offering gigabit now.
Both ways? Even in a city, I doubt I would get that 12 years ago! And VTel's FTTH wasn't ready until 2013.

Albeit I saw a line spooling over the existing cabling take place and the ONT box get installed on the house in 2012, IIRC.

Back when I lived at 105 Main St. in Springfield, Vermont (Was at that house from March 5, 2008 to April 15, 2016)

I saw a line spooling take place out back on March 2, 2012, IIRC.

Yes, the same ISP that I'm with upgraded me to FTTH on November 26, 2013. But I had to get it again, after I left 105 Main St. on April 15, 2016 and again on February 24, 2018, at the current house.

I had Comcast from the afternoon on June 12, 2016 to February 24, 2018.

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 03-17-2020 at 08:01 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 08:02 PM   #18
dragos2009
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Craiova
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 220VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 92
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

well here i get 1gbit fiber down with 500mbps up for 10$ mo fiber to the home dynamic ip tho in some rural areas the isp serves 100mbps ethernet over cable, most of them have ftth like the cities
dragos2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 08:05 PM   #19
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,170
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
Both ways?
Business class.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2020, 08:18 PM   #20
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,967
Default Re: OMFG, I have real internet!!

I'm still at 9Mbps (with CenturyLink saying that I can "upgrade" to 3Mbps - I hope they missed a zero), and I'm using the wireless connection in the modem's built-in router.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?