Lenovo li2341twf Monitor - No Power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lenovo li2341twf Monitor - No Power

TLDR: Brand new monitor turned on for a few seconds, wont power on anymore. Motherboard has open unused spots for capacitors... (I don't know what that means). Where should I start / Advice on what to do?

Longer verison:
    Hello, so I bought a Lenovo li2341twf touch screen monitor about a year ago. Upon opening and first installation, it powered on for only a few seconds and then turned back off. We ordered a replacement, but lenovo never wanted the original monitor back.. so now I have this broken one laying around and I would love to be able to repair it.

I am a bit of a noob when it comes to this, but I love to learn.
    I have torn the monitor apart, and observed what i could. All the capacitors look physically okay, no bulging, but I did notice that there are a few places on the board marked for capacitors that do not have any capacitors in place. I do not know what voltage or uF capacity should go there because... nothing was there before.

Should I even try to install capacitors there? Where should I start / what should I do?
    Attached Files

Re: Lenovo li2341twf Monitor - No Power

If there aren't any caps present at that spot, it don't uses those caps.
    Probably that board is used in multiple screens in their assortment; probably those caps are used for circuitry your specific monitor don't use / have.
    You can open your working monitor and use that as a reference, not only to find out those caps are also not present in your working monitor but also for present voltages on certain points.
    Maybe you can lay the monitors side by side, both monitors powered up, measuring voltages at certain points and verify that voltage on the broken board.
    Maybe only some mosfet or voltage regulator has blown.

Is the fuse still good?

That monitor uses an external power supply, did you test it with your working monitor?