Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2022, 11:08 AM   #21
yokoono
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Apply a positive voltage of approx. 3v to the DIM pin and see if the LEDs light up more strongly. You can apply the voltage from the stb voltage through a resistor. Don't forget to replace the filter electrolyte as well.
Or you can cut short between the BL / on and DIM pins.

Last edited by yokoono; 04-14-2022 at 11:11 AM..
yokoono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 07:36 PM   #22
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Hi, excuse my ignorance what is stb?
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 08:12 PM   #23
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by arizanotlari View Post
Connect a video source to tv (hdmi or dvbt).
Connected Blu-ray player hdmi nothing happened.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 09:33 PM   #24
yokoono
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by John McGivern View Post
Hi, excuse my ignorance what is stb?
The voltage applied to the motherboard when the TV is turned off.
yokoono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 12:26 AM   #25
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by John McGivern View Post
Hi, excuse my ignorance what is stb?
standby
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 01:18 AM   #26
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Just to clarify, Tv plugged in on standby. Apply 3v across resistor to dim pin.
What next?
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 01:24 AM   #27
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by John McGivern View Post
Just to clarify, Tv plugged in on standby. Apply 3v across resistor to dim pin.
What next?
see if screen lights up normal, if dim pin is zero volts could explaine why dim screen
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 02:35 AM   #28
yokoono
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

At Vestel electronics you can also enter the MENU and look for the backlight setting. There are 3 settings: low, medium, maximum. Set the maximum and see if the brightness increases. If there is a problem it will not change.
yokoono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 03:49 AM   #29
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Hi unfortunately I dont have a remote yet just using single button on the back for on/off not sure which remote to order these sets are a nightmare too many revisions of boards.
Do backlights default to lowest setting.
On standby led supply voltage is 37vdc approx half that is required.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 04:19 AM   #30
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

when you replaced the power supply did you match all the numbers i think the led output voltage does alter on some power supplies ,so say you use a 22inch supply the led voltage will be lower than a 32 inch psu

this remote may work https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/303505305...JyXx%2FQ%3D%3D

Last edited by vinceroger69; 04-15-2022 at 04:23 AM..
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 06:00 AM   #31
cheeky2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: london uk
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 188
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Blimey I am surprised you haven't resourced a remote control for it. Use a Sky remote control if you have one and programme it up: https://www.sky.com/help/program-your-remote

The questions I would ask first off is what is the code on your psu it will be the code highlighted here in picture. This is the code that you would need to find a replacement for the psu. Check to see what model on ebay it is suitable for the size of the screen that you ordered a replacement for it. If it's for a different size screen or different number of leds inside the screen then that will be why your brightness is low.
Generic Vestel remotes will also access some of the functions. I have around 10 different vestel remotes that I use if I don't have the exact one for the TV. At least then you can ensure brightness isn't turned down as well as backlight as well.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s-l1600 (4).jpg (189.3 KB, 6 views)
cheeky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 07:51 AM   #32
yokoono
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

I asked and he wrote that the power supply is ORIGINAL. So I can rule out the possibility that this is for another panel, of another size.
yokoono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 08:36 AM   #33
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokoono View Post
I asked and he wrote that the power supply is ORIGINAL. So I can rule out the possibility that this is for another panel, of another size.
post 20 says he replaced it so could possibly be wrong i guess
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 03:44 PM   #34
notallbad
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 963
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

hi are you still working on this?
notallbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2022, 10:02 PM   #35
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Yes I am still working on this I replaced the power supply with an exact 32” but the same fault appeared on the new one will get remote asap.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2022, 01:00 AM   #36
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

try whats suggested in post 21 if dim signal is missing proves its a mainboard fault
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2022, 09:39 AM   #37
notallbad
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 963
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Just had a 32" with same PSU 17IPS62, found one of the legs on the transformer near the led connector needed reflowing.
notallbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2022, 11:38 AM   #38
notallbad
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 963
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

might be worth just checking over both power boards for dry joints as already mentioned, as they do suffer from this issue, even if your replacement board was sold as working.
notallbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 12:23 AM   #39
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokoono View Post
Apply a positive voltage of approx. 3v to the DIM pin and see if the LEDs light up more strongly. You can apply the voltage from the stb voltage through a resistor. Don't forget to replace the filter electrolyte as well.
Or you can cut short between the BL / on and DIM pins.
Hi can you describe the method for injecting 3vdc to dim pin and where to inject is TV on standby or switched on where to position resistor is PSU board disconnected from main board sorry for my lack of knowledge just a beginner donít want to cause more damage want to learn to troubleshoot not just change complete boards and learn nothing. What do you mean by short between Bl / on and dim pins this requires removal of board. Likewise on main board all Test points on underside of board. I have an oscilloscope if someone can point out where to test and what to expect signal wise, many thanks.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 01:01 AM   #40
yokoono
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

I gave directions for an advanced non-beginner. To begin with, you need to identify the POWER ON pins (can also be called otherwise) for power supply start, BL / ON pin for backlight start and DIM pin for LED current adjustment. If you find the pins you can make the measurements WITHOUT the motherboard.

It is NOT possible to learn how to troubleshoot TVs online.
yokoono is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?