XFX RX 5700XT No Display

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

XFX RX 5700XT No Display

My friend handed over a xfx 5700xt with no display. When is first inspected the card is saw that the caps at the back of the card on the PCIE were knocked off with pads missing.
    I have fixed the pads back and replaced the missing caps with 220nf caps. I have tested that the pads are connected well and are making contact. i did check that there are no shorts on the 12v PCIE, 3.3V PCIE and the 12V coming from the power supply connectors. When i power the card ON i have all voltages but no display. I did a resistance check and i have marked my findings in the pics i have attached. I have never worked on a RX 5700XT before and i do not have any schematics for this board. I have tried switching the BIOS switch to the second position and its still the same. i have rewritten the BIOS with chip with the relevant one from Techpowerup and still no display. The GPU chip is getting warm. Upon doing a diode test in the PCIE lanes connecting to the BIOS chip i get 0.898V on all 16 lines in the front. The memory modules are of Samsung.
    Can anyone assist where i might be missing out on or may have gone wrong to analyze. I am not an expert and i consider myself as a learner. I have attached the pics of the card for reference.
    Attached Files

Re: XFX RX 5700XT No Display

Can anyone suggest. Should i consider reflowing or reballing the BGA chip? Its just that i want to make sure that i am exhausting all options before i get to the BGA chip.

Comment

Dont reflow the Chip unless you can tell for sure that something is Abnormal ! Get an oscilloscope and check CS (Chip Select Pin 5) of the Bios Chip you should see 3,3V getting pulled down when the Chip is reading bios. Could be the litte 22mHz Quartz oscillatior. And check your PEX_Wake, PEX_Reset, SMCLK,SMDAT. You can find the pinout of the outputside PEX connector on Wiki.