Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2022, 09:48 AM   #1
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Above TV, power on, 8 flashes tested all diodes and electrolytic caps ok
voltages shown on attached photo's. LEDs tested all but one was open so I bridged open LED all light but very dim. Shining torch I can see text on screen but voltage low on led connector. I dont have a remote yet. Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vestel62.jpg (101.7 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg pwr .jpg (115.2 KB, 42 views)
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2022, 06:39 PM   #2
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,732
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

Need to remove power board and look at the pins for leds for cracked joints. Common problem.
__________________
I assume no responsibility for any stupid suggestions I might post.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 03:58 AM   #3
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

my guess a failed led dragging led voltage down.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 02:46 PM   #4
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

All but one of leds light this was open so I bridged it and all work but very dim would the single bridged led prevent the Pwm from working I wanted to see if the tv was working I would then buy new led strips.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 03:26 PM   #5
neilc6
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,361
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

Most models (Samsung an exception) will shut down the LEDs if the voltage across the array is lower than expected (indicating shorted LEDs). If you want to test, put in a used LED module with same voltage drop.
neilc6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2022, 12:36 PM   #6
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

Hi guys sorry for late reply checked board no apparent dry joints.
Can I use a resistor in place of bridged open led to correct voltages.
If so what would be the resistance I assume these are 3v leds cannot find specs anywhere regarding voltages just says 3v or 6v nothing on strips.
I have read that it may be a firmware problem. This is a Digihome 32" Smart TV.
Vestel boards as shown in photos. 2 Led strips 11 on each strip wired in series.
Many thanks.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 03:20 PM   #7
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,394
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by John McGivern View Post
Above TV, power on, 8 flashes tested all diodes and electrolytic caps ok
voltages shown on attached photo's. LEDs tested all but one was open so I bridged open LED all light but very dim. Shining torch I can see text on screen but voltage low on led connector. I dont have a remote yet. Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks.
Put make and model number in thread title ! ! !

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24661
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2022, 09:44 AM   #8
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 VES315UNDB-2D-N21

Main board and power board numbers shown in attached photos. Cheers.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2022, 10:13 AM   #9
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10,394
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 VES315UNDB-2D-N21

Quote:
Originally Posted by John McGivern View Post
Main board and power board numbers shown in attached photos. Cheers.
The TV model number.Can`t add a picture into the thread title
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2022, 06:40 AM   #10
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

Sorry gents been away for a week.
SMDFlea Digihome Model~: PTDR32FHDS5 Made in Turkey.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2022, 07:48 AM   #11
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Vestel 32" LED Smart TV

i doubt if its a firmware issue if the tv is turning on and backlights work too a point what is printed on the led stips also what lcd panel type is used in this set.
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 04:27 AM   #12
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Hi. LED number = VES315UNDB-2D-N21.
No LCD NUMBER I can see.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 11:03 AM   #13
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Sorry for late reply sent to China for 2 new strips all lit but all dim.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 01:24 AM   #14
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,394
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

what voltage is on the led connector on the power supply did you get led strips that was 3v leds
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 04:42 AM   #15
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Hi, yes 3volt leds black wire 53.77vdc, red wire 1.68vdc
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 07:32 AM   #16
arizanotlari
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: Diyarbakir
My Country: Turkiye
Line Voltage: 220VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 142
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Connect a video source to tv (hdmi or dvbt).
__________________
GenÁ Elektronik ve Bilgisayar
arizanotlari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 07:56 AM   #17
yokoono
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

54V/ 3V = 18 leds.
yokoono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 09:09 AM   #18
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Hi ther are 2 strips each strip has 11 Leds -22Leds = 66volts as previously said all lit but very dim.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 09:33 AM   #19
yokoono
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

Is the power source original? If it is original, replace the circled capacitor.
L.E.
For backlight control, the processor commands the BL / ON pin. For intensity the processor commands the DIM pin, Measure on the dim pin if you find any voltage.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pwr .jpg (189.8 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by yokoono; 04-14-2022 at 09:38 AM..
yokoono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2022, 11:01 AM   #20
John McGivern
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: cleveland
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 177
Default Re: Digihome PTDR32FHDS5 (Vestel) 32" LED Smart TV

No replaced power supply same symptom.
No voltage on Dim pin.
John McGivern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?