Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Desktop Motherboards, Graphics Cards, and PC Peripherals
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2020, 09:57 PM   #1
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,012
Default Gigabyte 7VM400M-RZ

Pretty miffed when my 7VM400M-RZ stopped working, quite a handy board for testing Socket 462 processors

First try at resuscitation was replacing its larger capacitors, when that didn't work, all smaller ones as well



Still dead as, so I embarked upon what would usually be my first try, reprogramming the BIOS externally

Unfortunately Gigabyte being one of those $hit manufacturers who added a couple of cents to their profit margin by soldering BIOS chips directly to the board, I had to cut the chip out



solder in a socket



-then- program a replacement chip

Still no sign of life

I'm now considering a north bridge reflow, although have had one success

https://badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=47708

and one failure with that

https://badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=50171

Any suggestions?
__________________
better to keep quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 07:02 AM   #2
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,565
Default Re: Gigabyte 7VM400M-RZ

The schematic might help. Are you getting any voltage on the bios and power switch.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf GIGABYTE 7VM400M-RZ - REV 1.0.pdf (1.74 MB, 5 views)
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 01:03 PM   #3
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,278
Default Re: Gigabyte 7VM400M-RZ

"no sign of life" is quite vague. No point in suspecting BIOS or MCH if there is no power at all and it doesn't even try to turn on when triggering power button.
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #[email protected]
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 08:21 PM   #4
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,012
Default Re: Gigabyte 7VM400M-RZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
"no sign of life" is quite vague. No point in suspecting BIOS or MCH if there is no power at all and it doesn't even try to turn on when triggering power button.
Poor choice of words - board always powers on, so no sign of POST would be more accurate

BTW here's pics meant to be in original, which I cannot now edit
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 7vm400mrz_1of3.jpg (255.4 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg 7vm400mrz_2of3.jpg (209.3 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg 7vm400mrz_3of3.jpg (181.4 KB, 16 views)
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 02:04 PM   #5
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,233
Default Re: Gigabyte 7VM400M-RZ

via board huh? since u had one success reflowing a via board, i say go for it again!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 05:49 PM   #6
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,451
Default Re: Gigabyte 7VM400M-RZ

Hmmm. I see green Sanyo caps on those pics. Are they WG or WF series? If WF, you might want to replace them. They are known dud series, though they usually bulge the same way as United Chemicon KZG - i.e. typically when they are not used for a long time.

Other things to suggest:
- Did you try the board with a different stick of known good RAM? What happens if no RAM is installed? Motherboard beeping errors or not?
- Did you try re-installing the CPU. Old CPUs and sockets are usually very resilient against corrosion, but it doesn't hurt to try and reinstall the CPU a few times to clear any possible surface dirt on the contacts in the CPU socket.
- Was the CPU and RAM inserted and removed many times before? CPU and RAM sockets aren't meant for frequent component swapping, so if you did this every time you used the board, that could be a problem too. (Though it should be noted that CPU and RAM sockets can still probably take around 100 insertion cycles safely, so I doubt this is the issue here. Still had to mentioned it anyways, not knowing the history of the motherboard or how it was used.)
- Have a PCI POST card or can borrow one? Older boards are usually pretty decent about displaying POST codes on POST cards. The code is actually not that important, but rather seeing if the board is even trying to POST. This is handy for narrowing down the issue to voltage and/or enable signal problem or a component getting stuck at POST.

Last edited by momaka; 07-10-2020 at 05:50 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 08:50 PM   #7
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,012
Default Re: Gigabyte 7VM400M-RZ

Green caps are recent Suncon, albeit from eBay, checked on Transistor Tester before use - replaced KZGs which looked fine before removal

Tried with several different RAM, varying from DDR266 to DDR400, seeing test CPU is a Duron 800

No beeps if no RAM

Duron recently removed to test on another board (ironically a PC Chips M810) to verify it was working

CPU hasn't been changed too often - something I try to avoid, especially with sockets having flimsy HSF clips

POST card's LED card showed No Signal as I recall - reason I wanted to try another BIOS chip

It's winter here in Southern Hemisphere - I'll probably try ChaosLegionnaire's suggestion when my garage becomes habitable again

Last edited by pfrcom; 07-10-2020 at 08:58 PM..
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?