Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Heat gun for GPU reflow

Hello!

I'm a rookie repair guy and looking for a good heat gun for a GPU reflow on a Toshiba Satellite C55D-A5380.
    Any suggestions will be great and my budget is $40 dollars, yes it has to be cheap. I have been searching on Amazon and ebay but the item description states that they are for removing plastic or paint. Most of them have an operating temperature between 50 - 650 C*. I just saw one on a computer repair site for 20 bucks and a operating temp of 300 to 600 C*.

Thank you and good day.

Re: Heat gun for GPU reflow

no chance, you will popcorn the chip and delaminate the board.

spend several hundred on a reflow machine or leave gpu's alone.

Comment

Thank you.
      I'll keep looking.

Comment

Originally posted by mbsurfer2018 View Post
        Any suggestions will be great and my budget is $40 dollars, yes it has to be cheap.
        You are not going to find the right thing to use unless you are willing to up your budget to about $100.00
        9 PC LCD Monitor
        6 LCD Flat Screen TV
        30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
        10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
        6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
        1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
        25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
        6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
        1 Dell Mother Board
        15 Computer Power Supply
        1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *

These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
        2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
        All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Comment

Originally posted by stj View Post
          no chance, you will popcorn the chip and delaminate the board.