Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2018, 05:53 PM   #1
JayArr_BC
Member
 
JayArr_BC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Mission BC
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120/240/480/600
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 57
Default KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

Hi All

Every once in a while you get to work on a Cadillac.

I recieved a Pro101FD today that the customer says is dead, I've pulled the back and can't see anything burnt and there are no obvious bulged caps.

Some light googling warns me of a trap switch on some Pioneer models. I can't see one but am wary that I might be missing it and I read that if you power up with the switch open it goes into a state that doesn't recover when the rear cover goes back on.

I also can't find a manual, does anyone have one? It would tell me if there was a trap switch and a lot of other stuff too!

I see that Tom66 seems to be the resident Kuro Guru, can you help me out Tom?

JayArr
JayArr_BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 06:10 PM   #2
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,272
Default Re: KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

i would have thought it would have wires to it and can be defeated if needed ..
hard to see it without pictures or hacking your web cam in the hope its pointing at it...
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 06:53 PM   #3
JayArr_BC
Member
 
JayArr_BC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Mission BC
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120/240/480/600
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

Well, that's sort of the point of the question Pete. I can't see it either and I don't know what it looks like so I don't know if I've missed it or if it doesn't exist on this set.

Pic attached of the back after the rear cover came off.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PA290001.JPG (440.8 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by JayArr_BC; 10-29-2018 at 06:54 PM.. Reason: pic
JayArr_BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 07:06 PM   #4
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,272
Default Re: KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

most busiest tv i have seen in a long time ...
only thing i can think is the rear cover might have a peg like thing to poke through a hole to press a switch .. all the best with it .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 07:17 PM   #5
JayArr_BC
Member
 
JayArr_BC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Mission BC
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120/240/480/600
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

Good idea on the plunger so I went and looked, no luck, there isn't anything on the rear cover like that.

It's not even a TV, if you look closely you'll see there isn't a tuner anywhere. It's Pioneers high end Plasma Video Monitor. One add I saw on Google said MSRP was $4500 when it came out. It's quite the package, looks like they threw the kitchen sink at it, there are 8 inputs, composite video, component video, VGA, DVI and four HDMI and then there is a RS232 comm port and a LAN port as well!
JayArr_BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 07:24 PM   #6
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,272
Default Re: KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

out of my depth with this one .. dont mind following along to learn though
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2022, 01:45 PM   #7
brianallen
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
City & State: Huntsville, AL
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

good info
brianallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2022, 02:35 PM   #8
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,146
Default Re: KRP500M/Pro101FD, trap switch? Manual?

.

Last edited by R_J; 05-25-2022 at 02:45 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?