Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

bulging caps

Hi there guys,

Great forum, just tried recapping a functional Dell Gx745 sff motherboard (BTX motherboard and proprietary).

So... replaced 6.3V x 2200uF capacitors with new ones from Sayal Electronics here in toronto (Nichicon caps).

The computer runs fine.

HOWEVER, 2 of my new caps that I installed exhibit some mild "bulging" even before I powered up the system. I examined them all and tested them before installation with a multimeter so I knew they were at least visually good.

Are they bulging because I overheated them? Is this of significant enough concern that I should recap them again?

I used a 40watt Soldering iron to place on. Maybe should have used 40W to remove caps and 25 W to solder on.

Many thanks, I'm a newbie to motherboard recapping.

Re: bulging caps

Perhaps a close up picture would assist in our assessing the extent of the damage.
    Check its not just the plastic sheath bubbled.

use the manage attachments button, which is found by clicking "go advanced" under quick reply. (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB)

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.
    Please upload pictures using attachment function when ask for help on the repair
    http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39740

Comment

Originally posted by selldoor View Post
      Perhaps a close up picture would assist in our assessing the extent of the damage.
      +1

It would also (usually does) tell us if the caps are genuine. Many places online, especially ebay, often have fakes of well-known brand caps. I'm not familiar with Sayal Electronics, so I advise you to be careful.

And even if those Nichicon caps are not fake, it's important to know their series as well. Nichicon HM, HN, and HZ are the only ones suitable series for motherboard use (for larger 470uF and above caps, that is).

Comment