Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Designing a peltier cooling system

Hi all,

First of all, I m not sure where this thread should go. My apologies if this is the wrong section.

I'm currently studying solvent crystallization in materials and would like to create a discrete cooling system that I can place under a microscope to observe crystallization. To be more specific, I need to create a temperature gradient with freezing temperatures (ideally down to -30°C) on one side and room temperature on the other. After some research in the literature, I found exactly what I need:

https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-01902742/document

Now, what they built is rather complex. Fortunately, I don't need the whole thing. The very first step and most important one is to build a system with two peltiers that are temperature controlled, connected with a temperature sensor to place on the material to be cooled.

I know the very basics of electronics and enjoy tinkering with stuff. My hopes was that you guys could help me answer some questions and guide me through the process.

I m gonna get the same peltier modules they got. The peltier modules are 3.9 A and 15.7 Vdc. The temperature controller they use is $1000. It's a TEC-1122 Dual Thermo Electric Cooling Temperature Controller. I m not sure why they got such an expensive device. My guess is that this is for lab use and it's super accurate which usually equals super expensive. This is not a requirement in my case.

Can I use a more reasonably priced temperature controller that has an output around 15Vdc ? I was looking at the inkbird ITC-106RL which is around $25. I would need two of them to control the two peltier modules.

I have more questions but I think this is a good start.

Thank you!

Vrasp
    Attached Files

Re: Designing a peltier cooling system

No and it's complex as it needs to be. The water cooled silicon carbide heatsink looks interesting.

Comment