SyncMaster 920 - Flashing blue led, power cycling, swollen cap in PSU

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SyncMaster 920 - Flashing blue led, power cycling, swollen cap in PSU

Hello Everyone... I've spent the last couple of days absorbing the wealth of knowledge on this board -- THANKS!

I have a Samsung SyncMaster 920 19" widescreen LCD monitor that has recently started having troubles starting. When I apply power (with a VGA cable attached to the PC), the blue light comes on, I hear something in the power supply making a bit of noise, then it turns off. It seems to be about a 2 second cycle. I've been able to get it to start a handful of times, and it works fine once it is started.

Note: If I remove the LCD ribbon, I can get the monitor to power on each time, and respond properly (obviously with an all-white screen).

So I started digging around and I found that there is a swollen Samxon GK 1000uF 10v cap on the board. I would like to recap the PSU and the control board, but I'm having a bit of trouble matching up the proper replacement parts (ESR/ripple/etc). I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction on which series replacements I should use. My electronics knowledge is a little rusty, but from what I've been reading, ripple current needs to be equal or higher. Its mostly ESR I'm having trouble comparing. Do I just compare the impedance, or is there more to it?

Here are the caps I'd like to replace (information was collected from the various data sheets):

Code:
    Component	Value	Voltage	Model/Series	Brand	Ripple Current	Dimensions	Temp
    C820, 821, 826	47uF	25v	SH		Su'scon	110mA		8x12mm		125°
    C501, 817	470uF	25v	RZD		Lelon	1144mA		10x16mm		105°
    C818*		1000uF	10v	GK		Samxon	1430mA		10x16mm		105°
    C815		1000uF	25v	RZD		Lelon	1888mA		12.5x20mm	105°

C119		100uF	16v	KM		Samxon	125mA		5x11mm		105°
    C124		220uF	10v	RGA		Lelon	175mA		6.3x11mm	105°
    C127, 133, 141	22uF	16v	SK		Su'scon	63mA		5x11mm		105°