ViewSonic VA1930WM VS11354 won't power on

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ViewSonic VA1930WM VS11354 won't power on

I just rescued a ViewSonic VA1930WM model VS11354 LCD from someone who said it "crapped out" on them yesterday. They had it in the trash and I decided I would tackle fixing it.

It has a ILPI-025 Rev. C dated "2006.07.28".

The unit will not power on. No screen activity, no power LED, no noises, nothing. I have disassembled it and done some very basic troubleshooting. I tested the power switch and the fuse on the power board. The caps all look ok, no bulging or leaking. No funny smells from the power supply board. I didn't see any bad solder joints. I have not looked at the other PCB.

Attached are two pics, front and back of the power board. I have _very_ limited experience repairing electronics, a cheapo multimeter, and a soldering iron. My experience with bad caps is replacing the visibly leaky ones. I have no experience with "testing" them. Anyone have suggestions for what I do next? Thanks!
    Attached Files

Re: ViewSonic VA1930WM VS11354 won't power on

Originally posted by gustagen View Post
    no power LED
    1) On CN801, measure DC voltage on each of the 8 pins with respect to ground. You can use a ground screw for your ground (black probe). Report DC voltages for each pin.

If you have a manual multimeter, set it to 20V DC.

2) If no DC voltages are present (they all read 0.0V DC), then CAREFULLY measure the voltage across the blue Su'scon large capacitor. Put your multmeter on 200V DC and put your black probe to the negative leg and your red probe to the positive leg.

If you live in North Amercia, you should get around 165V DC.
    --- begin sig file ---