Need help with PS blowing fuses.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help with PS blowing fuses.

I'm an amateur at repairing electronics. I have fixed obvious issues on electronics before, but I could use some help on this fix. I picked up a Pioneer CLD-D504 laserdisc player that won't power on. There is no standby light. I was told it may have gotten wet but I see no obvious water damage. It had a blown fuse. I've downloaded the service manual. Nothing, including the fuse itself, says wether it's fast or slow blow, but I'm guessing it's slow, seeing as its right at the point where the AC power goes to the PS. I'm guessing it's the standby power that's "bad". I put in another fuse and it blew as soon as I plugged the player into the wall. I completely removed the PS from the chassis so it was not connected to anything. I replaced the fuse. As soon as I plugged it into the wall, that fuse blew. I've started measuring components on the primary part of the PS while still "in circuit". I haven't removed anything. The first thing I noticed was that R2 measures 2M ohms. I believe it should be 22.5 ohms. Could that be the "problem"? What should I measure next? I've ordered a pack of new fuses that should be here in a couple of days. Thanks!!!!!!
    Attached Files

Re: Need help with PS blowing fuses.

can you link or upload the service manual.
    it's probably a shorted diode or bridge rectifier.
    is this arcade-related??

Comment

btw, check the main transistor on the heatsink too.
      leave R2 alone if you want to live - it links the mains neutral to the metal chassis!!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by stj View Post
        can you link or upload the service manual.
        it's probably a shorted diode or bridge rectifier.
        is this arcade-related??
        Here you go...
        http://manuals.lddb.com/LD_Players/P.../CLD/CLD-D504/

Arcade related? Did I post this in the wrong forum? Sorry

Comment