Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2015, 10:31 AM   #1
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Hey there !

Been a while since I visited this lovely site ! Hope everything's alright, saw some red notification up there, hope the admin & badcaps store ain't in no trouble !!!

So I wanted to start my cisco trainings and stuff, hooked up my FW mentioned above to the PSU, worked one day. Did the same thing the next day, nothing. Dead. Tried the spare one - worked.

Disassembled, investigated. The PSU looks OK, no burnt spots or parts. Providing the picture. There is one indication of a failure, fortunately. The place with caps and the regulator is ''ticking'' (not like a bomb ), producing the sound twice per second. I think it is the regulator, but that's why I'm writing in here - to ask you guys if I'm right. Providing pictures.

Appreciate the help in advance !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20151109_162707.jpg (840.1 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20151109_162725.jpg (1.03 MB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20151109_162820.jpg (857.4 KB, 29 views)
__________________
Mobo: MSI K8N Master2-FAR CPU: 2x Opteron 265 OC'd @ 2,25GHz RAM: 2x2GB Crucial DDR400 CL3 ECC/Buff. (ECC OFF), VGA: ASUS HD6950 2GB Reference edition FLASHED TO HD6970 HDD: 80GB ATA133 Seagate ,OnBoard: 2xGLAN, 8-Ch. Realtek audio, USB2.0/Firewire, PCIe Physx card PSU: 850W Corsair AX Case: Cooler Master HAF932 + NZXT 5 Fan Controller.
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 12:26 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,156
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

ticking is either a shorted output, or a bad startup capacitor.

change the small cap c4 next to the control chip

and check the diodes on the other side of the transformer

Last edited by stj; 11-09-2015 at 12:27 PM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 09:06 AM   #3
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Thanks for the advice !!

The diodes show 470 and 778 values on the diode test. The regulators (the ones attached to the heatsink) show values between 400 - 650 when you measure the leads, but one of them shows 600 on one leg and beeps (short) on the other leg - which to me (since I'm an total amateur) is not a good sound. But I believe that removing the parts and measuring them outside the circuit is more reliable, thus will remove them and measure.

Should I continue replacing the C4 cap if this has been discovered?
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 09:55 AM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,156
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

it will last longer if you do, even f it's not the problem.
make sure you use a low impedence one like a panasonic FC/M/R or a rubycon ZL for example
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 02:13 PM   #5
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,548
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

What's the original cap?
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 03:17 PM   #6
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

25V 47uf Rubycon, which should be one of the best. Looking for a spare one now...
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 03:24 PM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,156
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

what series of rubycon?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 03:36 PM   #8
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

''YXF'' , those should be low impendance @ 105C
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 03:46 PM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,156
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

yxf is entry level low, and it's obsolyte - think the lowest you can buy now is yxg
so it's pretty old.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 09:25 PM   #10
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,548
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

But it's oil electrolyte if I am not mistaken so it should really work for ages. If you have a meter, try measuring it, if not, well than it's worth trying to replace it…
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 10:03 PM   #11
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,156
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

yxf are good performers - specially in audio gear.
but they do fail if they are near heatsinks, i'v seen a few go.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 08:52 AM   #12
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Why would they fail near heatsinks? Anyways, still haven't found a replacement one, I'm gonna hit the electro shop we have in the town tomorrow.
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:52 AM   #13
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,156
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

capacitor lifespan is directly related to heat because the liquid in it can dry out or crystalise.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:58 AM   #14
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,548
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

More like chemically react and create compounds which are solid, not liquid. Drying may be the case of water-based electrolytes, but it is not like there is water floating inside, it's chemically bonded too.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:39 AM   #15
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Sure it's the heat that usually kills the caps, but I thought that it would be something else since you said you've seen a few go . Nevermind and thanks anyways stj, because Behemot here stated an interesting fact : " Create compounds which are solind, not liquid " . Behemot can you elaborate, please?

Meanwhile I'm gonna dig through my junk board to see if I can find that cap, motherboards have similar ones near the audio chip usually.
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:43 AM   #16
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,156
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

i doubt a motherboard would have low esr near the audio chip.

you can probably use 100uf if it's easier to find.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 02:54 PM   #17
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Replacing the mentioned capacitor did no help. I've acquired all the other capacitors as well, I'll try to replace them all.
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 04:33 PM   #18
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,990
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Never seen a failed YXF in my life. If you ask me they are as reliable as caps can get.
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 05:08 PM   #19
Shodan486
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 197
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Measured it outta circuit - no problems at all, a slightly increased impendance only.
Shodan486 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 04:51 AM   #20
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,548
Default Re: Cisco pix 506 fw psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shodan486 View Post
Sure it's the heat that usually kills the caps, but I thought that it would be something else since you said you've seen a few go . Nevermind and thanks anyways stj, because Behemot here stated an interesting fact : " Create compounds which are solind, not liquid " . Behemot can you elaborate, please? .
For example salts and other compounds. The electrolyte and the foils react and loose their function. Capacitance descreases, ESR increases.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?