Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 09:10 AM   #1
3300uf
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: San Fernando
My Country: Trinidad
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Amico Capacitors

Hi guys. I saw some Amico branded capacitors on Amazon. They're really cheap and appear to of Chinese origin. Some of the reviews say they've used them for Audio repairs and various projects with good results. Nothing with respect to motherboards though. Anyone used this brand to recap a motherboard? Appreciate your feedback.
3300uf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,966
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

Haven't heard of them. Sounds like they might be OK for general purpose usage, but motherboard filter capacitors are a very high stress usage. I would recommend not using them to repair motherboards.

I wish I could suggest something that would work for you - knowing what brands and series are good is relatively easy, but I don't know what would be available to you in Trinidad. If Newark, Farnell, Element14 or DigiKey (all are distributors, not manufacturers) sell to Trinidad, those would be good starting places.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:42 AM   #3
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,977
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

Any pictures of them?
__________________
My first choice in quality Japanese electrolytics is Nippon Chemi-Con, which has been in business since 1931... the quality of electronics is dependent on the quality of the electrolytics.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:29 AM   #4
Evil Lurker
Warranty Voider
 
Evil Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
City & State: West Tennessee, USA
Posts: 452
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

One word... nope.
Evil Lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:54 AM   #5
3300uf
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: San Fernando
My Country: Trinidad
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

Sorry for the late response guys, appreciate your responses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Haven't heard of them. Sounds like they might be OK for general purpose usage, but motherboard filter capacitors are a very high stress usage. I would recommend not using them to repair motherboards.

I wish I could suggest something that would work for you - knowing what brands and series are good is relatively easy, but I don't know what would be available to you in Trinidad. If Newark, Farnell, Element14 or DigiKey (all are distributors, not manufacturers) sell to Trinidad, those would be good starting places.

That's exactly the problem PeteS. Any of the quality items that I need must be imported. Most of what's available here are generic brands...you never know what you're going to get.

I took a chance and ordered the Amicos already though. The set I ordered were labelled specifically for Motherboards. They should be here sometime this week. I'll install them and report on how they fare.

Thanks again.
3300uf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:18 AM   #6
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,373
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

If they are ordinary low ESR, it will probably work OK, but they will not last very long.

If they are general purpose I don't expect them to work at all.
__________________
Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
Free service manuals: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ -- 72 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 28 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers fixed! -- I repair Pioneer 9G Plasma Main Boards & KRP-M01 Media Receivers (PM me for info)

2 Pioneer KURO 9G, 12 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 11 LG LCD/Plasma, 18 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 22 Vestel LCDs (Best->Worst)
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:41 PM   #7
3300uf
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: San Fernando
My Country: Trinidad
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

I got them and replaced 4 bad caps on a Dell Dimension 4550 Mobo. The board is behaving the same as before: sometimes it boots to bios, but at no time does it get to the OS splash screen.

Can't say for certain that these new caps are no good as the mobo may have other problems with it.

I've attached a couple of pictures to show what they look like.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Amico 1.jpg (196.7 KB, 105 views)
File Type: jpg Amico 2.jpg (190.5 KB, 86 views)
3300uf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 02:20 PM   #8
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

The ones in the picture aren't Amico, they're made by ChongX :

http://www.chongx.cn/en/cp_view.asp?id=567

But on their site , the CD110X are only rated for 2000h @ 85c

Still crappy capacitors but they would at least get the board running. But your motherboard probably also has some capacitors that are not swollen or visibly bad and those still affect how the board works.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:08 PM   #9
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,162
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

Wow...so Cheng, Chang, ChengX, and ChongX must be the same company?
__________________
Buy quality, and you only cry once
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:17 PM   #10
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,720
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

No, Chang are Changzhou Huawei Electronics Co., Ltd and they're basically from 1987, so they should know something about capacitors:

http://www.huaweiec.cn/product_list_e.asp

I didn't see a lot of them fail, and even my Tenma linear power supply uses Chang exclusively and I'm not gonna bother replacing them.



These ChongX are (supposedly) made by "Changzhou Hua Hong Electronics Co.", and these started in '98.

They seem to be copying the Chang logo (but it's O instead of A and the N is much thinner)

http://www.chongx.cn/en/about.asp



later edit: and there's also chengx, chong etc.. clones or relabeled or no longer made stuff : http://translate.google.com/translat...chengx&act=url

Last edited by mariushm; 01-04-2013 at 04:24 PM..
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 04:50 AM   #11
theOracle
Senior Member
 
theOracle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Alabama
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V - 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 157
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

cheap capacitors are never a bargain - just import the good stuff (Rubycon, Chemicon, Panasonic, Nichicon) and even if it seems expensive, it is still a very cheap way to get a computer running again.

PS - Cheech & Chong brand is my favorite!


Last edited by theOracle; 01-14-2013 at 04:53 AM..
theOracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 04:11 PM   #12
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

beat me to it!
Quote:
Originally Posted by theOracle View Post
cheap capacitors are never a bargain - just import the good stuff (Rubycon, Chemicon, Panasonic, Nichicon) and even if it seems expensive, it is still a very cheap way to get a computer running again.

PS - Cheech & Chong brand is my favorite!

kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:48 PM   #13
LLLlllou
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 200
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3300uf View Post
I got them and replaced 4 bad caps on a Dell Dimension 4550 Mobo. The board is behaving the same as before: sometimes it boots to bios, but at no time does it get to the OS splash screen.

Can't say for certain that these new caps are no good as the mobo may have other problems with it.

I've attached a couple of pictures to show what they look like.
Those are utter garbage, but one would expect them to at least get the board up and running for a few days. Pop open the power supply and have a look, you probably have a bunch of bad caps in there too.
LLLlllou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 01:57 PM   #14
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: Amico Capacitors

Those Dimension 4550 boards are surprisingly tolerant of bad caps. My parents have been running one for years with bad caps in the power supply and motherboard, and it is still stable.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:01 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?