Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2013, 11:28 PM   #1
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,018
Default what can i use a WD caviar 2120 for?

its a caviar 2120 wdac2120-32m has: 872 cyl 35 spt 125.0 MB 3605 RPM 6s From Power-on to Drive Ready. came out of an AMD-386 machine that i am trying to get working (just need a keyboard) and since its getting the minix treatment its getting upgraded to a quantum bigfoot 12.7Gb so... what can i use this old beasty drive for?
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios, and now an IoT Dildo....

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous


You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore

Tomorrow Is Nearly Yesterday And Everyday Is Stupid!
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 11:44 PM   #2
gg1978
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
City & State: Jamestown, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 117VAC, 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 423
Default Re: what can i use a WD caviar 2120 for?

could put freedos on it, or a really light linux distro!!
gg1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:14 AM   #3
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: what can i use a WD caviar 2120 for?

debian 2.1 for the amd 386 machine.
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:15 AM   #4
Evil Lurker
Warranty Voider
 
Evil Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
City & State: West Tennessee, USA
Posts: 452
Default Re: what can i use a WD caviar 2120 for?

A source of fun magnets?
Evil Lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:55 AM   #5
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: what can i use a WD caviar 2120 for?

^ lol. no, it sounds too cool spinning up and running. same with my quantum bigfoot, they just sound too cool to kill.
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:46 PM   #6
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,086
Default Re: what can i use a WD caviar 2120 for?

I can't seem to get myself to get rid of these working hard drives:
1 40MB HDD
1 230MB HDD
2 400MB HDDs
1 730MB HDD
1 2GB HDD

Sigh... need to just get rid of them...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:11 PM   #7
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: what can i use a WD caviar 2120 for?

i want them
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?