Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2013, 05:06 AM   #1
luke10050
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: New South Wales
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 198
Default AMD Durons and fans

hey, so i have this AMD duron with ddr/pc133 ram and it has this rediculously annoying coolermaster rifle bearing fan, is there any easy to refill the resivor in these or alternatively stop it from being so damn noisy? or does it even need the fan at all?
luke10050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:10 PM   #2
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,297
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Use a drop of motor oil.
__________________
MSI B450 Tomahawk

Ryzen 7 "Matisse" 3700X

16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 SDRAM

XFX Radeon RX 580 8 GB

eVGA Supernova G3 750W






"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 04:32 AM   #3
luke10050
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: New South Wales
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 198
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

it doesnt really have a hole in the back, can i drill it?
luke10050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 04:58 AM   #4
ben7
Capaholic
 
ben7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Trenton, NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120V 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,982
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Replace the fan! The noise is from the bearing, (obviously) and when it is worn, it does that. All bearings make strange sounds when they are worn.

Replace it with a good brand fan, NMB, Delta, Panasonic, Nidec, just to name a few.
__________________
Muh-soggy-knee
ben7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 05:04 AM   #5
luke10050
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: New South Wales
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 198
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

now i have a good point to bring up, what can i use such an old pc for?
luke10050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:04 AM   #6
Evil Lurker
Warranty Voider
 
Evil Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
City & State: West Tennessee, USA
Posts: 452
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Hate to say it but I think its time to retire that dinosaur.
Evil Lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:31 PM   #7
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Lurker View Post
Hate to say it but I think its time to retire that dinosaur.
no, it would work fine with linux if the duron is a morgan or an applebred, but most people are way too scared (at least from what i see at my work) to try linux, yea evil lurker is right if you want to run a microscam OS that will be supported next year, upgrade the hardware
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios, and now an IoT Dildo....

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous


You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore

Tomorrow Is Nearly Yesterday And Everyday Is Stupid!

Last edited by goontron; 06-23-2013 at 12:33 PM..
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:17 PM   #8
Heihachi_73
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Melbourne
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 629
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Word processor, web server, Quake/Doom/other period-era FPSes/DOS games, freeware GTA1/GTA2... I can't think of much else to do with a Duron from 1999 or so, it's about as powerful as an Xbox 1 (or a four cylinder Commodore). Also, if it's PC133, it's most likely going to be plain old SDRAM rather than DDR.

Personally though, I'd retire it unless it has sentimental values or you collect PCs.

If it's a generic desktop tower case where the sides are separate pieces (e.g. not a one-piece shell like an old 486 AT case)...

Why not make a fire bin out of it:
1. Remove the sides.
2. Remove the internals - mainboard, drives, power supply, cables (PC speaker doesn't matter, if it has one). Keep the screws or board mounts if you need them.
3. Remove the front bezel, if not done already when you removed the sides.
4. Take off the top part (you might have to drill out the rivets if it has those instead of screws, or simply just break off the end that's riveted).
5. Screw both sides back on and you're set.

Of course, if you want carnage and a bit of black smoke, feel free to skip step 2 and leave everything intact. Being Australia though, in that we have Carbon Tax instead of Al Gore, "don't tell Julia Gillard".
Heihachi_73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 02:11 PM   #9
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,297
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Even those cheap chipset fans are possible to fix with a drop of motor oil!
The noise is probably from the original stuff getting depleted.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 05:38 PM   #10
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,519
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

is it noisy from high rpm or like another kind of sound. I knew some AMD HSF's just ran at high RPM

You can find a quieter heatsink, or a fan speed control knob. But the best thing to do would be to save your money and get something new. Intels HSF's with ivy bridge celerons are dead quiet
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 03:21 PM   #11
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,620
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke10050 View Post
it doesnt really have a hole in the back, can i drill it?
Yes.
I've done this several times with sealed fans. The most recent one was a Sunon KD1208PTS1 sealed fan. It wasn't stuck but didn't spin as freely as it should. Since the back was sealed with a metal cap, I drilled two small holes near the shaft through the front of the fan (on the rotor, that is) and droped 6 to 7 drops of oil in there, making sure to get the oil on the shaft. After some spinning, pulling, and moving the rotor by hand in different directions, the oil must have gotten to the bearing because the fan was spinning much easier afterwards.

So yes, you can drill fans.
Remember, it's already broken so it doesn't hurt to try these things .

As far as the Duron, I suspect it's a Morgan core since it uses PC133 RAM. Probably not very useful, other than for testing software and/or using it as a torrent box.
If it was an Applebred, you could always try the L2 cache mods and all of that.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 04:19 PM   #12
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,297
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Yes.
I've done this several times with sealed fans. The most recent one was a Sunon KD1208PTS1 sealed fan. It wasn't stuck but didn't spin as freely as it should. Since the back was sealed with a metal cap, I drilled two small holes near the shaft through the front of the fan (on the rotor, that is) and droped 6 to 7 drops of oil in there, making sure to get the oil on the shaft. After some spinning, pulling, and moving the rotor by hand in different directions, the oil must have gotten to the bearing because the fan was spinning much easier afterwards.

So yes, you can drill fans.
Remember, it's already broken so it doesn't hurt to try these things .

As far as the Duron, I suspect it's a Morgan core since it uses PC133 RAM. Probably not very useful, other than for testing software and/or using it as a torrent box.
If it was an Applebred, you could always try the L2 cache mods and all of that.
Actually, it looks like most, if not all socket 462 SDR boards support PC133, even when the usual FSB is only 100 Mhz. KT133 don't support 133 Mhz FSB but is fine with the RAM at 133 Mhz.
Only "KT133A" had proper support. Even full T-birds were often only 100 Mhz FSB.

I had a 1.3 Ghz 100 Mhz FSB variant, because of the board I had.

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 07-09-2013 at 04:22 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 10:32 PM   #13
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 950
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

I once ran MemTest86 with a 1.6 GHz Applebred Duron (130nm) but forgot to plug in the heatsink fan for 20 minutes. It didn't reach even 70C because the BIOS was configured to shut down at that temperature. This was with the mobo outside the case, in a 25C room. So I think that CPU barely needed a fan, and you should be able to get away with a really slow one. My heatsink was about 3" x 2.5" x 2":
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Coolermaster_DP5-6J31C.jpg (8.5 KB, 4 views)
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 07:38 AM   #14
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,620
Default Re: AMD Durons and fans

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrymoencurly View Post
I once ran MemTest86 with a 1.6 GHz Applebred Duron (130nm) but forgot to plug in the heatsink fan for 20 minutes. It didn't reach even 70C because the BIOS was configured to shut down at that temperature.
Interesting.
That CPU has a 48W/57W typical/maximum power dissipation. I'm surprised it stayed that cool.

I have a 1.4 GHz Applebred in a computer with a bigger heat sink than yours and a 80 mm fan going on full blast, but the CPU temp is usually in the 30-40C range (idle and under load respectively). Initially when I built that computer way back, the CPU fan was almost completely blocked and there was very little airflow. With that, the CPU temperatures never went above 52C under full load for hours. So I guess those CPUs aren't as power hungry as CPUWorld makes them appear.

Last edited by momaka; 07-14-2013 at 07:40 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?