Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2021, 03:18 AM   #1
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,081
Default Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

I have had several issues with batteries leaking what is going on here

I have emailed the company about this issue and I am waiting for and wanting a reply to this issue

Because I have had a Fluke meter FC3000 battery terminal break and I have not yet found a replacement battery terminals for this model I found it for other Fluke meters but I do not know if they are the exact same battery terminals or not

The email that I sent to the company is very detailed about the issue and that meter has been damaged because of this issue and a battery operated kitchen faucet was also had batteries leaking in the battery compartment which I cleaned but if it starts corroding then there is not much that you can do about it and this device is not cheap to replace

I asked them what are they going to do about this issue
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-01-2021 at 04:18 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 10:26 AM   #2
ron350
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: AL
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 268
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Yep last year or the year before I had a pack of AA’s and a pack of AAA’s all start leaking about the same time.
ron350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 10:51 AM   #3
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,081
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Those are the same sizes that are leaking for me as well with an expiration date of 2028 and 2029
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 12:14 PM   #4
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,192
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Start using low self discharge nimh cells (AA and AAA) in your expensive equipment. Sanyo/Panasonic Eneloops are the gold standard, but it's rumored that Ikea Ladda Made in Japan nimh are made in the same factory and specs as Eneloops, but are much cheaper.

I only use Eneloops in all my stuff now for the last 11 years. Zero leaks.

One of my original AA Eneloops has been recharged about 1,500 (not a typo) times over the last 10 years and still holds 1800mAh+ (out of a max rated 2000mAh and min rated 1900mAh).
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 03:24 PM   #5
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Environmental regulations banning mercury in alkaline batteries, means they now off-gas and leak. Bitumen was also used for the seal and may have also been demonized and replaced with something crappy.

For the dollars and hassle, I have changed over to Eneloops (Dell has them on sale sometimes) or Ikea Ladda which also seem to be good. Ladda I don't find them the same as the Eneloops and the lineup was changed this year, but anything is better than leaking Duracells.
I use vinegar to clean out and neutralize the alkaline potassium hydroxide mess, then a water rinse. I find IPA does not work so good.

There are replacement Fluke battery clips on fleaBay from china; translation called them "schrapnel" for some weird reason. Not sure what the FC3000 uses.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 06:48 PM   #6
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,081
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

I did get a reply from my email about issues I am having with there batteries
They want pictures of the devices in question
They want pictures of batteries in question
They want the pictures of damage to the devices in question
They want pictures of the sale invoice or a link for the device from a company website
They want to know what the device is used for
And requesting to me not to continue to use the batteries in question

I have sent them the information request that they are asking for
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2021, 08:34 PM   #7
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

You need to know how much damage was done in dollars.
I went through the process with Duracell and they freaked out with the dollar value of the multimeter. They don't know what to do when it's not a cheap flashlight or kid's toy or TV remote control. Expensive gear they think you are trying to rip them off instead of understanding cheap batteries can be in expensive situations.

A lawsuit about leaking Duracell batteries as false-advertising, did not work unfortunately. I recently read California 4/2016 "A federal judge threw out a lawsuit accusing Procter & Gamble Co PG.N of misleading consumers by guaranteeing that Duracell batteries would not fail for 10 years, when in fact the batteries might leak when used or stored normally."
"Judge Koh said reasonable consumers would understand that P&G’s representation that the batteries were “guaranteed for 10 years in storage” was a warranty to repair, replace or refund batteries that failed within that timeframe, and not a promise that the batteries “have no potential to leak.”
"She also said in her 33-page decision that the complaint did not identify any cause, including any design or manufacturing defect, as to why the batteries might leak."

She didn't do a thing about damages. It's just stupid- all you'd get is replacement batteries and have no consequences to making junk product that leaks.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 05:36 AM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,520
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

i have had fucking duracell's leak while still sealed in the bubble-pack!!
i wouldnt guarantee them for 10 months!
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 07:12 AM   #9
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,081
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Then is just bunch of crap and the guarantee does not mean shit so what do you do if nicad batteries do not work correctly in certain devices

Yeah you can buy 1.5 volt Li-Ion batteries but how do you good ones from bad ones

Because alkaline batteries are becoming more expensive and not lasting long enough anymore

Because I have a lot device that takes AAA and AA batteries
The AA batteries have the Li-Ion more options
The AAA batteries have the less Li-Ion options

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-02-2021 at 07:18 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 12:21 PM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,520
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

you buy cheap $ store alk's because anything beats durasell and keep an eye on them.

OR

you look at other technologies,
or you can use AA or AAA size lithiums and adapt the device.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 03:17 PM   #11
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,174
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
i have had fucking duracell's leak while still sealed in the bubble-pack!!
i wouldnt guarantee them for 10 months!
I've seen them leak while they were still on store shelves.

During one of their many marketing troll renaming stunts (selling a "longer lasting" model that was identical to the standard model), they switched to a cardboard box with a tiny window on the front, so you couldn't see them leaking until you opened the box. I think I posted about one of those packages having every single battery leaking inside it.

For poorly-designed products that don't work with NiMH batteries, I've heard that the Energizer lithium batteries are better, but I have seen them leak. The leaking ones were past the use-by date, so that could probably be excused.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 07:00 PM   #12
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,846
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

the only alkaline that didn't leak even after 18 years not were made by Maxell. Like others, I switched from alkaline batteries over to eneloop, duraloop, fujitu, whatever eneloop rebrand made in japan and I don't look back.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2021, 07:21 PM   #13
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,081
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

I am looking for 1.5 volt buck converter but have not had much finding any that have a small board

Can anyone please help me with this

Also who makes a good 14650 or 14500 battery I would prefer that they were made in Japan li-ion batteries
4.2 volts

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-02-2021 at 07:23 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 05:53 AM   #14
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,520
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

i have bucks that can go atleast down to 1.8v - you could try messing with the resistor values on one.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32842409405.html

i use these a lot - the pads match the pinout of a 78xx linear regulator
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 08:25 AM   #15
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,846
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

I use these Anyvolts:

https://www.robotshop.com/en/dimensi...regulator.html
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 03:06 PM   #16
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,192
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

RayOVac's in Fluke 189. See

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testge...attery-leaked/
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 05:39 PM   #17
mosfetratus
Sure Not
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
City & State: CapCity
My Country: Resistron
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 88
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
you buy cheap $ store alk's because anything beats durasell and keep an eye on them.

OR

you look at other technologies,
or you can use AA or AAA size lithiums and adapt the device.
Confirmed.
duracell is pure garbage, they piss before expiring.
mosfetratus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 06:30 PM   #18
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,081
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredcaps View Post
Thanks for sharing this post with there issue with this meter and batteries

I have used these batteries in the past but I have noticed that they did last as long when I bought the second set of them a year or so later so I do not know if it is a quality issue or not

https://www.ebay.com/itm/19340678632...QAAOSwn2legbsX

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-03-2021 at 07:23 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 11:22 PM   #19
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 25,520
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

those batteries, big clive did a teardown of the Jugee branded ones - very interesting products!

there are also NiZN batteries - i think thats the chemicals anyway - they run at 1.5v but not many chargers support them.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2021, 11:55 PM   #20
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,081
Default Re: Has anyone had issues with Rayovac Alkaline batteries leaking

I have bought the NiZN brand before and the first set of them were very good quality but when I bought them again the quality was not there anymore but I see that are some other brands making them I might give them a try again and see if they are any good or not

KENTLI Batteries AA 1.5V 3000mWh Li-ion Rechargeable Battery + Charger I have bought these batteries before also and the first set lasted me about two years with medium use and my son used them in his X Box PlayStation remote all the time but when I went to buy another set of them the quality was not there anymore and not worth the money either

But I see other brands that are having the same concept so I might give them a try and see if they are any better in quality or not

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-04-2021 at 12:04 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?