looking to buy an oscilloscope

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

looking to buy an oscilloscope

any ideas as to which one?,will be using for tv repair,im totally new to using one,so any help would be gratefull,is 100mhz the best option?,id like to get one that i dont have to upgrade,just stick to the same one,second hand or new,or anybody on here selling one.cheers
    fixed so far...376 lg lcd tv's,24 onn tv;s,24 panasonic lcd,16 jvc lcd,12 marshall jcm800 amps,refurb of various disco equipment lighting,old style disco decks ,and a flymo!

----------------------------------------------
    please let us know if everything works ok if your tv gets fixed, as it will be and aid for anyone else having the same problem and wishing to fix it.it would save people clogging up this site with topics that are duplicated,and can be found easily using the search function.,and taking up valuable space.enjoy your fixed tv!,hopefully!

Re: looking to buy an oscilloscope

Not sure of your budget, but if you can afford it, the Tektronix TDS 3014 (100MHz, 4 channels, LCD display) is a great instrument. or the 2-channel model, the TDS 3012. The TDS 2000 series is quite decent as well, less expensive, and I think there is a TDS 1000 series that is even less, though I haven't used one in that series. The TDS 3000 series is a best seller for Tek; I first saw one in 1999, and they are now on the "C" rev.
    PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.
    To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.

Comment

For most TV repair, 20 MHz analog is perfect - I picked one up for £60 here from a local test equipment surplus store.

For more advanced uses I have an ancient 100 MHz digitising scope (older than me.)