LG 50PA4500 - Sound with no picture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG 50PA4500 - Sound with no picture

Turned on my two year old LG 50PA4500 unit a few weeks ago and discovered I had no picture, but I still had sound.

In doing some research, the consensus seemed to be that the power board and the buffers were likely not the culprit, but rather the Y-sustain board.

I ordered a Y-sustain board (was supposed new) for $22.00 and installed. I still have no picture - just sound.

I am not overly familiar with electronics (I am a chemical engineer by trade) - and do not own an oscillascope....but I do have a Fluke multimeter and am willing to take any picture or test any hypothesis the experts are willing to offer.

Any ideas on what to do next?

Thanks!

Dante Mincin

Re: LG 50PA4500 - Sound with no picture

In a dark room, can you see a faint glow from the screen at all?

Could you take some pictures of the boards inside the TV - one overall, and then one of every major circuit board.
    Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
    For service manual, schematic, boardview (board view), datasheet, cad - use our search.

Comment

Tom66,

Thank you for such a timely response.

I put the television in a pitch black area and cannot detect even the faintest of a glow.

Please see photos of all major boards (and entire TV backplane) attached.

Attached Files

Comment

By the way....while looking at the pictures, I noticed that the one board (I believe the z-sustain board) was unplugged from some earlier testing.

Plugged back in, but still not the faintest of glow.

Comment

Ok, on this board:
          https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...6&d=1419109570

There are jumper wires marked VS_TP and VA_TP.