Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Desktop Motherboards, Graphics Cards, and PC Peripherals
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2021, 01:38 PM   #1
psu879
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Gwynedd
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

Hello. So I think I damaged this board when I was attempting to use it with a riser - my memory of it is not great - the lesson I think is to not fiddle with such things after having the final vaccine jab.

So now the fan spins, but it is not detected in windows at all. There are no burn marks on any of the IC's, having checked with a microscope. The only thing I did see was the look of grimy greasy stuff near one of the big capacitors, also one of the small caps is dented.

So I would love some guidance on confirming the caps are bad (currently have a multimeter), anything else to look for, and identifying the caps so I could replace the dented/bad/leaky ones. Image is attached.

Much appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0568.jpg (829.8 KB, 38 views)
psu879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 05:59 PM   #2
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,871
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

I usually don't see caps fail like that on upscale video cards. (at the time of manufacture) Reminds me too much of the dreaded Sacon FZ!

Was it a mea maxima culpa moment? I dunno!
__________________
MSI B450 Tomahawk

Ryzen 7 "Matisse" 3700X

16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 SDRAM

MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT

eVGA Supernova G3 750W

Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD




"¡Me encanta "Me Encanta o Enlistarlo con Hilary Farr"!" -mí mismo

"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Today's lesson in pissivity comes in the form of a ziplock baggie full of GPU extension brackets & hardware that for the last ~3 years have been on my bench, always in my way, getting moved around constantly....and yesterday I found myself in need of them....and the bastards are now nowhere to be found! Motherfracker!!" -Topcat

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 01:42 AM   #3
psu879
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Gwynedd
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

oh yeah definitely pilot error I think is the biggest reason it doesn't work any more, dunno fuse isn't blown on the board, so who knows.
psu879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 01:58 AM   #4
dicky96
Sun Seeker
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

Check the tiny little MLCC capacitors by the PCIe connector - you may have damaged or broken one or more of them when using the Riser? That would cause the GPU not to detect.
__________________
Follow me on YouTube
------------------
Learn Electronics Repair
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFX...R8UZ2vg/videos
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 09:49 AM   #5
didi79
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
City & State: Menen
My Country: BE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

Is there a chance you may have connected the riser backwards ?
See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=phuVDZm9-Zk
didi79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 09:53 AM   #6
psu879
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Gwynedd
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

Thank you for the replies all, I shall investigate and feedback
psu879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 11:36 AM   #7
psu879
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Gwynedd
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

definitely a chance of putting the riser in backwards, stupidly easy to do, can't remember clearly as I said. I'm not getting any readings on the tiny little capacitors, so most likely need an ESR tester rather than multimeter for those I guess. I'll do some reading...

Thanks for the link to the dead core video that's helpful, and quite possible if I did indeed connect it backwards. What may have happened is that the particular motherboard I was plugging it into is a btc-t37 a mining motherboard, which has 8 pcie slots really close together - they are effectively risers. Now I had heard you could use a riser with one of these with only powering the riser. (each pcie slot it's own 6 pin pci connector), as the slots are really too close together, I wanted to try this. So I plugged in the riser, and just powered the riser. I later read that the mb needs at least one 6 pin pci connected, so it may have been this, there was definitely an error code amount of beeps, before it booted, and then the gpu was never detected again!
psu879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 02:41 PM   #8
psu879
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Gwynedd
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

also there is no manual for the motherboard with which to RTFM
psu879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 11:34 AM   #9
dicky96
Sun Seeker
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

I doubt you would get a reading on the tiny little capacitors, it's more the case that they can gt broken or knocked off the board with a bit of rough handling. If they zre all present I am sure they are OK. If any are missing/broken generally the GPU will not detect.

Have you checked all the voltages, Vcore, Vram, 1.0V (Pex?) 1.8V.....
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 04:23 PM   #10
psu879
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Gwynedd
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

Hey thank you for the reply, and yes absolutely no chance of getting a reading off them, they all look to be present and correct c816 doesn't have a capacitor, but it looks like it never did.

I have looked at some voltages and resistances and got some values but not entirely sure what would be right and what wouldn't be good or indicative of damage.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 970pcie.jpg (700.4 KB, 15 views)
psu879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2021, 03:54 AM   #11
dicky96
Sun Seeker
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

Basically you can see that each PCIe 'lane' is a differential signal (two copper traces) and this is where the capacitors are connected. You would not expect to see anything much in the way of voltage here. It's a form of LVDS (low voltage differential signal)

Probably the only meaningful measurement you could take here is if any of the capacitors are short circuit , which may happen if they have a hairline crack. Most likely if they look OK they are OK. I would say that the resistance readings you get should be the same for all 16 PCIe lanes.

These signals all go to the GPU so if something is widely different on one or more of them this could also indicate a GPU fault.
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2021, 02:15 PM   #12
didi79
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
City & State: Menen
My Country: BE
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

I find this site with PCIE pinouts very handy.
What dicky96 is referring to (I think) is measuring the resistance on each transmitter and receiver pair. Eg. pin 14 - 15 on side B for Transmitter lane 0.
didi79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2021, 04:45 PM   #13
psu879
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Gwynedd
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

Thanks both for the replies, I'll have a crack and see what I can work out
psu879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 03:23 AM   #14
taxxin
Senior Member
 
taxxin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
City & State: bangkok
My Country: thailand
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 132
Default Re: Gigabyte Gtx 970 not detected

I hate risers, I was using one for my EGPU setup for my old Gen 1 I7 laptop with a 660ti 2GBReference, one day i was doing some light 3d cad work on fusion 360 and it suddenly froze up and i heard a crackle and smokes, the GPU since then has no memory power rail anymore. Replaced all the mosfets and controller and it still doesnt work.
taxxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?