Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2021, 04:24 AM   #81
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,826
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

if your going from AVR to Pi or STM32, remember your i/o is 3.3v
good for displays - you dont need resistors,zeners or buffers anymore - but may need a bit of attention with some sensors
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2021, 10:59 PM   #82
EasyGoing1
Shock Therapist
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Victorville, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 700
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
if your going from AVR to Pi or STM32, remember your i/o is 3.3v
good for displays - you dont need resistors,zeners or buffers anymore - but may need a bit of attention with some sensors
I've had two Arduino Due's ... and managed to foul them up pretty nicely because i wasn't being mindful of the 3v limit. However, these Teensy 4.0's I've managed to not damage and they are 3v so ... this old dog can learn some new tricks.
__________________
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 02:51 AM   #83
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,994
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

Are Microchip/General Instruments PIC8s dead yet?
If so, good riddance.
If not, ()#$*#(@#*(@ their memory management.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 09:53 AM   #84
EasyGoing1
Shock Therapist
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Victorville, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 700
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Are Microchip/General Instruments PIC8s dead yet?
If so, good riddance.
If not, ()#$*#(@#*(@ their memory management.
Could you have meant the PIC18 Microcontroller?
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 10:18 PM   #85
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,994
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

No, I generalized all PIC 8-bit microcontrollers into the same bin... the trash bin...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2021, 03:51 AM   #86
EasyGoing1
Shock Therapist
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Victorville, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 700
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
No, I generalized all PIC 8-bit microcontrollers into the same bin... the trash bin...
That's where my Commodore 64 went several decades ago and I still don't regret it ... even if these weirdos are obsessed with the C=64 making a come back... I don't live for the past ... I'm happy to be done with it.
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2021, 12:08 PM   #87
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,994
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

Never used a C64 but as a 6502 I don't think that's horribly bad. I do have my qualms with 6502 however, not a great processor either but much better than PIC 8-bit...

6502s are fast however. Beats the Z80 which I've preferred, but 6502s murder the Z80 MHz for MHz.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2021, 02:41 AM   #88
EasyGoing1
Shock Therapist
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Victorville, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 700
Default Re: How could I find a FET with specific specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Never used a C64 but as a 6502 I don't think that's horribly bad. I do have my qualms with 6502 however, not a great processor either but much better than PIC 8-bit...

6502s are fast however. Beats the Z80 which I've preferred, but 6502s murder the Z80 MHz for MHz.
This new laptop I got has 32 gigs of RAM in it...

My first computer, the C=64 had 64k of ram...

So TODAY, my computer has 500,000 times more ram than my first one.

That's pretty phenomenal to me.
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?