Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2022, 08:24 AM   #1
zoldi211
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Kosice
My Country: Slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 26
Default Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

Hi, I bought Thorens TTA-2000, but I am affraid connect speakers because DC offset between the +/- terminal are 2,5V!!! This is normal value on this "A" class amplifier or is this faulty?
zoldi211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 04:58 PM   #2
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,993
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

Seems a bit high, does the amp have a DC offset adjustment inside? Are both channels the same?
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 06:07 PM   #3
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

looks like cap coupled output so will read some dc unloaded ..try a load on it ..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 09:26 PM   #4
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,472
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

zoldi, can you download the schematic from that forum and post here?

Do both R, L channels have the same offset of 2.5V?
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 03:43 AM   #5
zoldi211
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Kosice
My Country: Slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

Hi, schematic on german forum is incorrect. I found one in korean forum and this have only one error, R11 are before R12,R13. Some values are also incorrect, but there are only minimal differences. I measured input voltage: 71V, voltage after trimmer 53V. Voltage between R1 pins: 0,380mV. Heatsin after 30 min 60C, but this is normal with this amplifier!
Attached Images
File Type: gif Thorens TTA 2000 1.gif (14.6 KB, 14 views)
zoldi211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 03:47 AM   #6
zoldi211
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Kosice
My Country: Slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

Yes, both channels are same. DC adjustment maybe not...
zoldi211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 03:49 AM   #7
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

if you haven't got a resistor to load the output use a crappy speaker .. that dc will go away .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 03:53 AM   #8
zoldi211
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Kosice
My Country: Slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

I haven't tried load on it, because I don't want to destroy the speakers...
zoldi211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 04:11 AM   #9
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

its capacitor coupled output so unless the caps are leaking its normal to see some dc without speaker loads .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 04:23 AM   #10
zoldi211
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Kosice
My Country: Slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

so do you think, i can use it normally with speakers?
zoldi211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 04:38 AM   #11
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

you should test it with speakers you don't care about first . or a suitable resistor .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 05:15 AM   #12
zoldi211
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Kosice
My Country: Slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

OK, thanks. What type of resistor is suitable for this test (value in ohms, wattage)?
zoldi211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 08:09 AM   #13
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

8 or 16 ohms or around there or even higher ..there won't be any signal therefore little current as vol will be turned down . i guess anything over and including 1 watt should do it .. saying that i believe its class A so idle current will be high . just be quick . you just need to see it drop to 0v .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 01:11 PM   #14
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,993
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

2.5vdc is not that much voltage, but you can place about a 1 amp fuse in series with your speaker just to be safe. Do not have a source connected and playing music etc. as that would blow the fuse for sure. just use this setup to check the dc offset
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 02:15 PM   #15
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

one thing it isnt dc offset on this amp .. its called dc balance .. one output is at rail and the other about half that . that's why it has a capacitor to block the dc ..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 03:03 PM   #16
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,472
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

As others have mentioned, this amplifier is not DC-coupled to the loudspeaker. It uses a large coupling capacitor C1 10,000uF
So your DCV reading is likely due to small leakage currents in the big cap. In pictures this amp has a speaker protector relay board? Does it have one?

I did blow up an amp Dynaco ST-120 which also uses huge output-coupling caps. You have to be careful.
When you switch it off, the cap is still charged for a long time, and I was changing speaker wires and shorted them or something heard a thump and it blew the amplifier- even though it was turned OFF.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 03:52 PM   #17
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 7,993
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

Now that I look closer at the schematic in post 5 I see the output cap. so I guess there is no _____ adjustment.
I don't think the stock unit has speaker protection.

https://old-fidelity-forum.de/thread-41267.html

RIP Meatloaf

Last edited by R_J; 01-21-2022 at 04:30 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2022, 05:43 PM   #18
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,215
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

adjustment for dc balance is done with a scope and set for equal clipping .
one note is when adjusting the idle current can change the dc balance and visa versa vi best to have 2 meters hooked up along with the scope and sine wave input then sort of trade off idle current and dc balance till its right .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2022, 12:14 AM   #19
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 2,472
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

I think you need a speaker relay to stop the huge thump until the output caps charge up. Not for (shorted output transistor) protection.
There are pics of TTA-2000 with and without one. It might be a mod or add-on. The old Dynaco ST-120 used to make a loud thump with woofer cone lurching out on power up, and slowly sinking back in until output cap charged up.
I don't know what the trimpots are for.

RIP Bat Out of hell, among my first rock LP's bought.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Thorens tta-2000 with speaker relay.jpg (313.2 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg Thorens tta-2000.jpg (595.8 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by redwire; 01-22-2022 at 12:17 AM..
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2022, 07:10 AM   #20
zoldi211
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Kosice
My Country: Slovakia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 26
Default Re: Thorens TTA-2000 DC offset

The test is done. With old speakers and 1A fuse, because I dont have suitable resistor. After turning on, the current disappeared. I measured only 0,04 or 0 mA.

A have a version with protection board with relay (1. photo in post #19).
zoldi211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?