Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

LG 50" PK540 Plasma Clicking, not turning on.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG 50" PK540 Plasma Clicking, not turning on.

I have acquired a broken 50" LG plasma. Looks to be some sort of Cyber Monday or Black Friday TV special from some google searching. I will post pics and a video of what it is doing: not powering on and just clicking, im getting a red light, and about 3 tries to fire up and then it seems to give up. The video should be up in 10-15 minutes. None of the CAPS look bad on a visual inspection, Ive unplugged both the Y and Z and tried to power it up but to no avail. Im new to fixing TVs. Just fixed my first one (40" Samsung LCD last night, thanks to badcaps.net!) I have some basic soldering and electronic skills but breaking things down in Dumb-dumb terms helps me learn best. Thanks for the help!

Video : http://s14.photobucket.com/albums/a3...t=IMG_1968.mp4
    Attached Files
    Last edited by andocommando; 02-14-2012, 10:06 PM.

Re: LG 50" PK540 Plasma Clicking, not turning on.

The video seemed to upload upside down but here is what the TV is doing
    http://s14.photobucket.com/albums/a3...t=IMG_1968.mp4

Comment

Thanks for the pictures and video.

Have you got a digital multimeter?

If you turn all the lights out in the room, can you see any flickering on the screen while it attempts to turn on? It might be a brief flash, or a slightly grey screen.

I repaired an LG 42PC1D with very similar symptoms but it had an entirely different power supply. In my case it was a fault with the AC detect, and it was easy to fix.
      Last edited by tom66; 02-15-2012, 02:53 AM.
      Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
      For service manual, schematic, boardview (board view), datasheet, cad - use our search.

Comment