Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2020, 07:21 AM   #21
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,227
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoAlley101 View Post
Also, will purchasing a 10a power supply benefit my cameras by providing more amps than required? Is it possible I could also buy a 20a 12v power supply instead? For some reason they are cheaper than the 10a power supplies but if the 20a will mess up my cameras then I can go with the 10a instead.
The 20Amp would be fine especially if cheaper than the 10A version.
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.
dick_barton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 07:35 AM   #22
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,227
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

The SS1200 looks as though it's a 600W unit so at 110V the max load current would be 5.45Amps.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf SS1200~SS2000 User Manual.pdf (177.4 KB, 4 views)
dick_barton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 11:12 AM   #23
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Ugh, I purchased the 10A Power Supply and the lines still persist. Help!!!
I feel like my outlet is underpowered or something. I was going to try testing it with my voltmeter but it is broken. I feel like I am going to end up dropping a lot of money on this if the problem keeps up. I really need some professional help on what to do.

Last edited by TornadoAlley101; 04-01-2020 at 11:14 AM..
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 02:11 PM   #24
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,671
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

It could be a ground loop.
I did 6 months working in a CCTV place, I had to replace a similar power supply as a recent installation had similar interference on the screen. It was no better after replacement.
I believe it was replaced with an IP camera system after that.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 07:39 PM   #25
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,137
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

If you are combining the ANALOG camera video signal over twisted pair, you will likely have that issue. one cameras video will beat against the others causing a harmonic which shows up in the video. The best way is to run seperate coax to each camera.
If it was a ground loop problem it would usually have a bar that rolles upward in the video signal.

Last edited by R_J; 04-01-2020 at 08:11 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 04:04 AM   #26
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,227
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoAlley101 View Post
Ugh, I purchased the 10A Power Supply and the lines still persist. Help!!!
I feel like my outlet is underpowered or something. I was going to try testing it with my voltmeter but it is broken. I feel like I am going to end up dropping a lot of money on this if the problem keeps up. I really need some professional help on what to do.
If I read the tech sheet for the SS1200 correctly then it is rated at just over 5 amps. If you have more items connected to it that take in total more than 5 amps then that may well be the problem.
dick_barton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 05:16 PM   #27
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
If I read the tech sheet for the SS1200 correctly then it is rated at just over 5 amps. If you have more items connected to it that take in total more than 5 amps then that may well be the problem.
I disconnected the UPS system from the voltage stabilizer and nothing has changed. The UPS is directly connected to the wall outlet but there is no change in the lines. The description says the voltage stabilizer's maximum capacity is 1200VA @ 600 Watts.

Last edited by TornadoAlley101; 04-03-2020 at 05:32 PM..
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 05:22 PM   #28
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
If you are combining the ANALOG camera video signal over twisted pair, you will likely have that issue. one cameras video will beat against the others causing a harmonic which shows up in the video. The best way is to run seperate coax to each camera.
If it was a ground loop problem it would usually have a bar that rolles upward in the video signal.
I have multiple BNC cables running side to side next to each other at some locations. Will that cause problems? I really hope that isn't the problem because the areas where they are together are the only areas they can run. Also, the lines roll sideways (left to right or right to left) not upward.
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 05:26 PM   #29
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
It could be a ground loop.
I did 6 months working in a CCTV place, I had to replace a similar power supply as a recent installation had similar interference on the screen. It was no better after replacement.
I believe it was replaced with an IP camera system after that.
I am afraid if it could actually be a ground loop. The ground loop isolators cost up to 15 bucks for just a 2 pack and with 16 cameras this could be very expensive. I wish I could get a sample isolator so I could test this out first before I go off buying 16 isolators.
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 05:55 PM   #30
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,137
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoAlley101 View Post
I have multiple BNC cables running side to side next to each other at some locations. Will that cause problems? I really hope that isn't the problem because the areas where they are together are the only areas they can run. Also, the lines roll sideways (left to right or right to left) not upward.
BNC are the connectors, what type of cable? If it is coax, shielded cable its not an issue. If it's twited pairs of wire then I could see a problem.
A ground loop is a small difference in the 60hz a/c ground between two points, and due to the vertical scan rate being around 59hz, the bar will show as moving upward in the image.

Last edited by R_J; 04-03-2020 at 06:06 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 07:31 PM   #31
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,484
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoAlley101 View Post
I am afraid if it could actually be a ground loop. The ground loop isolators cost up to 15 bucks for just a 2 pack and with 16 cameras this could be very expensive. I wish I could get a sample isolator so I could test this out first before I go off buying 16 isolators.
Umm... sorry... if one can afford 16 cameras, he can afford 16 Loop isolators for 8 bucks a piece too.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 07:40 PM   #32
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
BNC are the connectors, what type of cable? If it is coax, shielded cable its not an issue. If it's twited pairs of wire then I could see a problem.
A ground loop is a small difference in the 60hz a/c ground between two points, and due to the vertical scan rate being around 59hz, the bar will show as moving upward in the image.
It is a cable sold by ZOSI themselves. It should show all the specs so here is the link: https://www.amazon.com/ZOSI-Extensio.../dp/B0185MMPP2


Last edited by TornadoAlley101; 04-03-2020 at 07:44 PM..
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 07:45 PM   #33
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Umm... sorry... if one can afford 16 cameras, he can afford 16 Loop isolators for 8 bucks a piece too.
I purchased the system on a lightening deal. Be more helpful next time.
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 07:53 PM   #34
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

So if it is possibly a ground loop, is there a way to test it out to confirm it?
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 09:12 PM   #35
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,137
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoAlley101 View Post
Has anyone found a solution to this? I have the exact same problem with a ZOSI 16 Channel CCTV System. Vertical lines on every camera. I am using 4 power adapters, each connected to a 4 way splitter to power all 16 cameras. When I power only one camera without the 4 way splitter the lines disappear.
So you have 16 cameras and 4 splitters correct? The splitters are for the Dc only and each camera has a separate video cable from the camera to the DVR unit? If this is correct, try disconnecting each video line and see if that makes a difference.

Last edited by R_J; 04-06-2020 at 09:52 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 08:35 AM   #36
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
So you have 16 cameras and 4 splitters correct? The splitters are for the Dc only and each camera has a separate video cable from the camera to the DVR unit? If this is correct, try disconnecting each video line and see if that makes a difference.
I actually have the cameras set up to the power supply now. I will try to disconnect each video line separately though and see if there are any differences.

Last edited by TornadoAlley101; 04-07-2020 at 09:19 AM..
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 09:21 AM   #37
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,137
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

You said if you had one camera connected the lines disappeared, if you connect a second camera the lineas appear. I assume this was disconnecting the power to the cameras. with more than one camera powered but only one VIDEO connected, see if the lines are there, if not connect a second camera video, if the lines appear, disconnect the bnc cable and then just touch the bnc ground to the dvr and see if the lines return in the connected camera video.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 09:23 AM   #38
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
You said if you had one camera connected the lines disappeared, if you connect a second camera the lineas appear. I assume this was disconnecting the power to the cameras. with more than one camera powered but only one VIDEO connected, see if the lines are there, if not connect a second camera video, if the lines appear, disconnect the bnc cable and then just touch the bnc ground to the dvr and see if the lines return in the connected camera video.
Sorry, I did mean that I tested it out by removing the power lines. I will try out your method and let you know the results. Thanks!
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 09:42 AM   #39
TornadoAlley101
ʙᴀᴅᴄᴀᴘꜱ ᴀᴅᴍɪɴ
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: Fairfax, VA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 24
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

Results:
When 1 Channel Connected via Power + Video and all other channels ARE connected via power ONLY = Lines Appear

When 1 Channel Connected via Power + Video and all other channels NOT connected via power NOR video = Lines Disappear

When 2 Channel Connected via Power + Video and all other channels ARE connected via power ONLY = Lines Appear
TornadoAlley101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 11:03 AM   #40
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,137
Default Re: CCTV Vertical Coloured Lines Rolling Across Screen Interference

So as soon as a second channel is connected (any camera of the 16) the lines appear. If just touching the second cameras bnc to the dvr does'nt give the lines, then its nothing to do with the ground. It is likey just that the dvr has poor isolation and filtering between the video channels. when you have 2 signals that are basically the same they will will produce harmonics that will show up in the image, just like having 2 audio signals thet beat together will produce harmonics
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:33 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?