Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2019, 03:00 AM   #1
Asxetos21
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Iraklion, Creta
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Dell Precision 3520 Bios

Thanks mcplslg123 your advice is solid.

I could not agree more on the "don't mess with hardware unless necessary".

I attach the original bios dump the board was on when it started dying.
If someone could have a look for any bios corruption?

Precision_3520_orig.zip

Thanks...
Asxetos21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 03:49 AM   #2
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: Dell Precision 3520 Bios

Try this bios .
Attached Files
File Type: zip Precision 3520 ME_CLEAN.zip (8.61 MB, 17 views)
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 12:14 PM   #3
Asxetos21
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Iraklion, Creta
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dell Precision 3520 Bios

Thanks SMDFlea,
Didn't work, same behavior.

Can someone provide a full working dump from ALL 3 flash chips on a Dell Precision 3520 with an i7-7820HQ cpu?
Don't care if it's password protected, i just want to see if it brings the board to life.

UC5 is the main bios (under the fan)
UT2 and UT6 are for Thunderbolt firmware and EC settings (next to the USB-C plug).
Asxetos21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 12:33 PM   #4
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: Dell Precision 3520 Bios

Your backup bios had corrupt ME firmware,i only cleaned it, i`ll post another bios with the latest update merged as there could be corruption in the bios region too.
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 12:42 PM   #5
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: Dell Precision 3520 Bios

New bios . service tag: CFXCSQ2 .Give it some time,it may reboot a few times .
Attached Files
File Type: zip Breckenridge-H_1.16.0._1 3520 ME_CLEAN.BIN.zip (8.58 MB, 10 views)

Last edited by SMDFlea; 12-10-2019 at 12:45 PM..
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 03:04 AM   #6
Asxetos21
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Iraklion, Creta
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dell Precision 3520 Bios

No luck, same thing.
On 1st DC connection, the power light goes on for 3-4 secs and then it stays off, the battery led blinks white forever.

I left it settle for 15 mins before i tried to power it on manually (long power button press). It powers on for like 10 secs then stays off (and behavior is repeated).


PS (correct me if i am wrong)
To my knowledge, ME firmware is a combination of a piece of BIOS code, and a piece of firmware that is flashed directly inside the CPU when the ME version is changed in the bios.
Plus those 2 pieces of code MUST agree (be on the same version).

So far, all efforts on my board were done on the bios side, but cpu part of the ME-firmware must be still the same since the cpu update part needs a working board to run.

Any thoughts on this?
Asxetos21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 03:54 AM   #7
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,255
Default Re: Dell Precision 3520 Bios

You have a hardware issue,i beleive both bios i posted are good.
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 10:11 AM   #8
Asxetos21
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
City & State: Iraklion, Creta
My Country: Greece
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dell Precision 3520 Bios

I will ask the community again,

Can someone provide a full working dump (programmer readout, and unmodified) from ALL 3 flash chips on a Dell Precision 3520 with an i7-7820HQ cpu?

It has been proven (also by me) that ANY modification on late (>2016-2017) generation Dell laptop bios can lead to similar behavior. It does not pass the built in digital signature tampering verification, so only a good readout from the same hardware will work.
On a 2017 dell Latitude (same generation) i requested a NVME module replacement bios, which caused a "CPU failure" led code. Restoring the original dump fixed it.

Thanks...

Last edited by Asxetos21; 12-11-2019 at 10:12 AM..
Asxetos21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?