Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2007, 06:23 PM   #1
twistedbottlecap10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Question Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Does anyone have any pics of the interior? Or links to a place that does? I am curious as to the caps it uses. Thanks!
twistedbottlecap10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 06:47 PM   #2
shadow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Posts: 725
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

I have also been very interested in this. Mainly because the Basiq series is quite cheap, however it is made by a fairly reputable brand. I would also be very interested on the quality of the Basiq series Antec power supplies!
shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:36 PM   #3
Sparky
High voltage
 
Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Ohio
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 227
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

I'd like to know about the build quality of these as well.
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 08:07 AM   #4
tazwegion
Badcaps Veteran
 
tazwegion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 399
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Hmmm... it is quite cheap, I'd definitely go for one over say a generic 'yum cha' PSU (with questionable wattage)
__________________
Viva LA Retro!
tazwegion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 10:43 PM   #5
Sparky
High voltage
 
Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Ohio
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 227
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

who wants to buy one and take pics of the innards?

I would except I have a tight budget (college kid = not much mad money )
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 01:44 AM   #6
twistedbottlecap10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

I got one in today thanks to the fry's deal that should be only $15 shipped(if the $35 rebate is honored). I thought I would run it for a week or two in a system to see if it dies(in case I need to send it in under warranty for replacement) and if it looks like it is going to be OK, I'll void the warranty and post pics(if I can borrow a camera that is).
twistedbottlecap10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 04:58 PM   #7
Shroomie
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
City & State: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 356
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

I don't know whether I believe it, but aren't these Fortron-built? If so, they ought to be fine...
__________________
You know there's something wrong when you open up a PSU and are glad to find Teapos.
Why I don't buy cheap cases!
Shroomie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 11:04 AM   #8
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 949
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

The Basiqs are definitely Fortrons. Here's a 700W Fortron FX-700GLN:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/oth...roundup_6.html



Notice how much it looks like this 500W Antec Basiq:



My 500W Antec Basiq had Capxon capacitors (good brand) in both the high voltage and low voltage sides:

larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:16 PM   #9
Shroomie
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
City & State: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 356
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Wow! Not bad at all, then. Guess that's one more on my good list. Thanks for the proof, Larry.
Shroomie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:28 PM   #10
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,412
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Hmm, 500w with that design?

Not that I'm saying it's a poor low-cost design (we sure need low cost PSU's that still are able to deliver clean current)

But I'm kinda sceptical about it delivering 500w without either going out of the ATX spec or just getting too hot (if it's efficiency isn't really really good that is, because those heatsinks on the primary side does not look too impressive surface area wise...)

A very good 300w PSU I am sure it is though, and I am BTW yet to actually see a computer that draws over 300w DC for that matter so :P
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:37 PM   #11
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?



bluestorm 2 500-60gln

why the transformer on the basiq say STG not SPI?
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati

Last edited by willawake; 07-12-2007 at 02:42 PM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 09:36 PM   #12
twistedbottlecap10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Thumbs up Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Thank you larrymoencurly for the pics! It saves me from having to void my warranty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson
Hmm, 500w with that design?

Not that I'm saying it's a poor low-cost design (we sure need low cost PSU's that still are able to deliver clean current)

But I'm kinda sceptical about it delivering 500w without either going out of the ATX spec or just getting too hot (if it's efficiency isn't really really good that is, because those heatsinks on the primary side does not look too impressive surface area wise...)

A very good 300w PSU I am sure it is though, and I am BTW yet to actually see a computer that draws over 300w DC for that matter so :P
Would it having active PFC have an impact on the power output with the heatsinks and other components that are used?

Quote:
Originally Posted by willawake

bluestorm 2 500-60gln

why the transformer on the basiq say STG not SPI?
I was wondering about that also.
twistedbottlecap10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 11:15 AM   #13
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 949
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson
Hmm, 500w with that design?
That's what I thought, but some legitimate PSU review websites said that other Fortrons of similar design and similarly small heatsinks did OK. However I think they were 80%+ efficiency models, while this Basiq is rated for only 70% min., but those 80%+ models also use diodes on the outputs, not more efficient MOSFETS there.

What did Fortron do to those other models to give them higher efficiency?
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:35 AM   #14
scwam
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shroomie
I don't know whether I believe it, but aren't these Fortron-built? If so, they ought to be fine...

This psu is really good. rails at idle were 12.16 - 12.19 and stayed at 11.99 to 12.00 at full load pulling about 440 watts from the wall. I covered the psu to let it run very hot were it even ran up to 55c while my friend gamed the crap out of it. It never once crashed my system or blew a cap at the extremes. I've had it for 3 weeks and put it through some harcore testing and it is definately at thumbs up psu. The .pf rating I got at loads was consistently at .98 and sometimes hitting .99. It only drops down to .94 when your system is at idle and pulling ~200w.

Last edited by scwam; 07-24-2007 at 11:40 AM..
scwam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 12:13 AM   #15
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,630
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

Is scwam an Antec Rep?
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 03:32 AM   #16
gonzo0815
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
City & State: Germany
Posts: 1,595
Default Re: Antec Basiq 500W Pics?

It is looking very similar to my AmacroX Free Earth AX500-60GLN (made by or at least designed by FSP too), except the o/p caps.
My o/p caps have had only 1000uF on any rail (two caps per rail in a phi configuration).
I replaced them with Panasonic FM 1500uF and 1200uF.
Replaced the 120mm fan by an AC 120AF ceramic bearing fan too. My system is running stable as a system could be and noise level is acceptable.
gonzo0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?