Vizio E601i-A3 top half of screen dim

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vizio E601i-A3 top half of screen dim

A buddy brought me a TV that his work was throwing out. It powers on, has video, but the top half of the screen is dim. From what I've researched, this is an edge lit TV, and I think that the LED strips (shopJimmy offers two strips) are on the bottom edge. On this TV, the bottom of the screen is bright. I'm wondering if this is caused by a faulty panel? Or is this something that can be repaired?

Has anyone else experienced this symptom on an edge lit TV?
    Attached Files

Re: Vizio E601i-A3 top half of screen dim

Dang. I was hoping by now someone would have some experience with this symptom on an edge lit TV.

Comment

I would say remove screen and see if backlight is uniform

Comment

I agree with alfatv that it's best to check that none of the backlights are out.
        Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

I assumed that since this is an edge lit TV, and the backlights are only along the bottom edge and there’s a bright strip along the bottom that the backlights aren’t the issue. But maybe there are sections of that one strip that aren’t functioning and the other sections are enough to fill across at the bottom of the screen, but not bright enough to fill the whole screen.

Comment

Besides LEDs, there is glass and diffuser sheets which suppose to produce uniform backlight. You will not know unless you take it apart. Single burnt LEDs or sections should not cause the issue you have.

Comment

Shopjimmy seems to show 2 backlight strips as replacement. Perhaps this tv has 2 led strips, one on top and the other on the bottom? Maybe one strip is burnt out?

Comment

Originally posted by frannyjunk View Post
                Shopjimmy seems to show 2 backlight strips as replacement. Perhaps this tv has 2 led strips, one on top and the other on the bottom? Maybe one strip is burnt out?