Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Other Devices with Bad Capacitors
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2016, 03:14 PM   #1
linker3000
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: West Sussex
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22
Default Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Typical symptoms: The switch had been powered up and working for several years and was then switched off for an office refurb, never to power up again. The unit contains a Delta ADP-40VP 5V 8A SMPSU board and the output measured 1.6V

There were 4 suspect caps with no outward signs of distress - all Ltec:

1 x 1500uF 10V - replaced with Panasonic 105C FR
3 x 2200uF 10V - replaced with Panasonic 105C FR

I decided I might as well replace the HV smoothing cap while I was in there (100uF 400V Ltec), so in went a Chemicon KXG.

There was also a small 47uF ??V (covered in white goop) which was given the benefit of the doubt as it would have required some major digging out. Right now the PSU/Switch is working again.

Pic is of the recapped board - the replacement Chemicon 100uF is slightly bigger than the original Ltec. If the unit plays up again, the 47uF is for the chop - heck, I might do it now anyway while I'm in the mood!

All the best etc.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160106_202946-sm.jpg (292.7 KB, 183 views)

Last edited by linker3000; 01-06-2016 at 04:35 PM..
linker3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 04:22 PM   #2
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Nice one probably best to replace that 47uf asap never know when it will go
__________________
Please Do Not PM My Page Asking For Help Badcaps Is The Place For Advise, Page Linked For Business Reasons Only. Anyone Doing So Will Be Banned Instantly !

https://www.facebook.com/Telford-Tel...7894576335359/
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 04:50 PM   #3
linker3000
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: West Sussex
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

I actually called it a day in the home workshop without doing the last cap - let's see if that comes back to bite me later!
linker3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 04:54 PM   #4
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,412
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Actually it's very common that it's that one small cap that is the reason a PSU like this one will not power back up after cooling down.
Reason is the ESR of a cold capacitor is worse vs one that is hot.
The small capacitor is used as a startup timing capacitor, so that's why it's important in only that stage...
So if it's the same next time it has been without power you know what to do
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

Last edited by Per Hansson; 04-15-2016 at 03:29 PM.. Reason: Added link
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 05:00 PM   #5
linker3000
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: West Sussex
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Yeah, it'll bug me if I don't do it anyway, so it'll come out soon! Any suggestions on working voltage as it's encased in the mounting goop from the 400V cap.

Edit: Since SMPSU design is one area of electronics I've not really 'got into' in the past, I've just done some reading up and it seems that the little 47uF startup cap can be the source of quite a bit of hassle!

It looks like a 50V/63V one will be OK - does that sound reasonable?

Last edited by linker3000; 01-06-2016 at 05:24 PM..
linker3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 06:04 PM   #6
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,662
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

I fixed several of these identical power supplies a few weeks ago.
It's the small green cap that usually fails, mine had the big cap fail too.
I have a couple still here, i can measure the voltage later today for you.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 11:58 PM   #7
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,325
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Quote:
Originally Posted by linker3000 View Post
It looks like a 50V/63V one will be OK - does that sound reasonable?
Yes.
50V is what you will typically find for those caps, and 25V or 100V on very rare occasions.

The start-up cap can cause quite a bit of trouble, indeed. I've had a D-Link router power adapter fail like that. I changed all of the output caps and -nothing-. Then I changed the start-up cap, and voila! We're back in business again. (And probably should also mention that this power adapter wasn't my only experience with a startup cap going bad.)
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 11:29 AM   #8
linker3000
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: West Sussex
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Starting capacitor replaced - it was 47uF 25V

Thanks everyone for your input.
linker3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 07:52 PM   #9
elec-newb
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
City & State: il
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

I have this same switch/psu and it didn't come back online after it was off-line for a few hours. I have inspected the board/components as best I can and I don't see any visible damage. I have a multi-meter, but rarely work on electronics.

If I de-solder and remove the c3 cap, can I test to see if it is good (with my multi-meter) or is there another way to test it?
elec-newb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 08:05 PM   #10
elec-newb
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
City & State: il
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

I guess I can spend 5 bucks and roll the dice...either that or throw it away.

http://www.amazon.com/Rubycon-Alumin...words=47uF+25V
elec-newb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 10:11 AM   #11
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,412
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

If you want you can replace the whole PSU instead, I provided some sources for it below.
But it is likely it is a startup cap, read the whole thread I linked and the links within

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=53745
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 10:55 AM   #12
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,662
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

I've done about 10 of these power supplies now. All bar one has come back to life and are working as expected. The last one I think is down to the 3843B controller on the bottom of the power supply.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 06:30 PM   #13
elec-newb
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
City & State: il
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Is it possible to test these caps on the board w/o de-soldering anything?
elec-newb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:14 PM   #14
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,428
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

no
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 03:36 AM   #15
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,412
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elec-newb View Post
I have a multi-meter, but rarely work on electronics.

If I de-solder and remove the c3 cap, can I test to see if it is good (with my multi-meter) or is there another way to test it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by elec-newb View Post
Is it possible to test these caps on the board w/o de-soldering anything?
To answer your first question, no you can't with a generic multimeter.
Some have a built in capacitance test which can be somewhat useful.
But what you really need to test caps is an ESR meter...

P.S: http://www.badcaps.net/store/product...roducts_id=118

Last edited by Per Hansson; 05-28-2016 at 03:39 AM..
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 04:25 AM   #16
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,428
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

a cap meter can test the startup cap because they almost always drop in uF as they fail,
but the output caps need an esr meter.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 01:50 PM   #17
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,325
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
a cap meter can test the startup cap because they almost always drop in uF as they fail,
but the output caps need an esr meter.
Interesting. I've had the exact opposite experience for the small start-up caps: most went high-ESR but capacitance did not always decrease. Even had one from a Router adapter that read perfect capacitance (46 uF for 47 uF nom.), but ESR was over 30 Ohms. Took more time to open the adapter than to find the problem and do the recap .
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 07:56 PM   #18
432345
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: NY
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

I have no clue how to figure out broken electronics parts, but based on this information I managed to fix this Delta PSU in my old Netgear Pro switch (which I got from ebay years ago).

It didn't come back after a power outage and I thought if something died, it was probably on the AC side. And since apparently this starting capacitor is an obvious fella...

Desoldered the 47uF/50V cap from an old PC PSU I had sitting around, collecting dust, and replaced the Delta PSU 47uF/25V cap with it.

AND IT WORKED. Hahaha.
Probably the first time that I managed to fix a broken PCB, instead of just ripping it apart
Almost forgot to check for correct polarity of the replacement Cap as well...

A replacement PSU would have cost me more than what I paid for the switch on ebay... so thanks!
432345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 02:01 AM   #19
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,412
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

Welcome to Badcaps and congrats on the successful repair!
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 05:38 PM   #20
diegobiazzo
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Mendoza
My Country: Argentina
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Netgear Prosafe JGS516 switch with Delta Electronics ADP-40VP PSU board (fixed)

worked for me. many thanks.
diegobiazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?