Panasonic TC-P42ST30: Repair for 14 blink code

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Panasonic TC-P42ST30: Repair for 14 blink code

My beloved Panasonic TC-P42ST30 has been stricken with the 14 blink code.

I've spent many hours reading through forums, watching YouTube videos and reading the Panasonic plasma troubleshooting guide. But I'm a novice at this, and still need some help to cross the finish line.

I understand the Panasonic troubleshooting guide suggests that the 14 blink code usually means there's a problem with either P-board or A-board. However, I also learned the problem frequently rests with the SN-board.

Using my multi-meter, I was able to confirm the P-11 pin on the P-board is working fine, which leads me to believe the A-board is probably fine, too.

The P-2 pin on the P-board is testing as a short. I ordered a replacement board, tested it and had the EXACT same problem with P-2 testing as a short.

Question: Just double checking, if the P-2 tests as a short, that means the board needs to be replaced, correct?

The SC/SN-2 pin on the SN-board is also testing short.

Question: If the SN-2 pin tests short, that means the SN-board should be replaced, correct?

Thank you!
    Attached Files

Re: Panasonic TC-P42ST30: Repair for 14 blink code

Check thes 4 ibgt's for a short. Leg to leg and leg to tab.
    Attached Files

Comment

Thanks for the suggestion!

Okay, I tested the four IBGT's you identified in the photograph and they all failed.

Question: I'm pretty sure this means the SN-board needs to be replaced, correct?I found a guy who will fix the board if I send it to him.

Question: And in follow-up to my earlier question, if the P-2 tests as a short, that means the P-board needs to be replaced, correct? The original board and my replacement board both tested short at the P-2 pin. Coincidence or not? I'm not sure.

Originally posted by tvtimmy View Post
      Check thes 4 ibgt's for a short. Leg to leg and leg to tab.

Comment