Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2022, 01:15 AM   #1
link626
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
City & State: LA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36
Default new apple studio display uses capxon caps

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pdPq2eGrUs

capxon is top quality?
link626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 08:40 AM   #2
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,211
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

Who said Apple is top quality?
It is top price, has nothing to do with quality!
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 12:32 PM   #3
kaboom
"Oh, Grouchy!"
 
kaboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: PA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Who said Apple is top quality?
It is top price, has nothing to do with quality!
Yup, price =/= quality.

Just like "high end" audiophoolery, with sloppy wiring & cheep components, crApple is all about perception.
__________________
"pokemon go... to hell!"

EOL it...
Quote:
Originally Posted by shango066
All style and no substance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smashstuff30
guilty,guilty,guilty,guilty!
guilty of being cheap-made!
kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 12:48 PM   #4
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

CapXon is unavoidable. I can only hope that their quality has improved, but I doubt it.

On top of that, the design of this monitor is insane. What are they doing with a full iPhone SoC and such a large power supply? I guess they're reusing the SoC as a video scaler and the backlight will burn everyone's eyes.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2022, 10:43 PM   #5
link626
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
City & State: LA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

i mean generally apple products are superior to the competition, or overengineered.
they use high quality materials everywhere else.

I don't think they'd risk their reputation saving a few pennies on capxon instead of the japanese brands.

maybe capxon has improved.

these are 22uf 450v, must be custom made for apple in this pencil size
link626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 03:13 AM   #6
ribcage
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
City & State: Land
My Country: Earth
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

They are definitely not superior, and over-engineering is a bad thing. Who the hell puts fans in a monitor? That's completely retarded. Might as well get a CRT if you like noises coming from your monitor.
ribcage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 07:26 AM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 26,792
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

Apple is not a "product" anymore, it's marketed as a "lifestyle" or a cult!
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 10:54 AM   #8
dmill89
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Harrisburg, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
Posts: 2,226
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Who said Apple is top quality?
It is top price, has nothing to do with quality!
^This, apple makes some of the lowest quality most poorly built garbage out there (and has for a long time) and charges a premium for it (and people are dumb enough to buy it).


Quote:
Originally Posted by link626 View Post
i mean generally apple products are superior to the competition, or overengineered.
they use high quality materials everywhere else.
They may have largely used quality materials, but they've had piss-poor build quality and "engineering" for a long time. I wouldn't consider products that are largely held together with tape and glue, and have glaring design flaws (cracking hinges, failed keyboards, poor thermal design, etc. on their laptops and in general it seems the quest for "thin and light" has led to materials too thin/weak to do the job and poor thermal design and overheated or overloaded components seems to be a running theme among their products, phones that don't work if you don't hold them a certain way, etc.) as "top quality".

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
Apple is not a "product" anymore, it's marketed as a "lifestyle" or a cult!
^This, Apple is definitely a "cult" at this point, and their brainless drones are more than happy to buy whatever overpriced shiny turd they crank out next. Much of their user base also seems to be perfectly accepting of a 2-3 year lifecycle (or less) for their products, so capxon caps probably won't be an issue for most of them.
dmill89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 02:43 PM   #9
AleXis6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
City & State: Minsk
My Country: Belarus
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by link626 View Post

I don't think they'd risk their reputationsize
I think it is a Planned obsolescence.
marketers want customers to update their gadgets more often
AleXis6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 04:03 PM   #10
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

Apple already has the cult who thinks it's cool to constantly buy new stuff (and create e-waste as a consequence), so there isn't any need to force products to fail. It's just a company being cheap because the average product life is shorter than the life of CrapXons. I see the same thing in appliances because of the HGTV renovation stuff.

The power supply was almost certainly contracted out to someone else, and nobody paid attention to the quality of the parts. The power supply manufacturer probably thinks all cap brands are the same, and Apple just slaps the board in the monitor. I've seen that happen in applications that need higher reliability than a consumer product.

It's possible that this 265W power supply (at least that's what I think it says - the video is out of focus) is mostly for Thunderbolt or USB-C power delivery instead of the backlight drawing 250W at full brightness.

Apple's quality problems aren't anything new in the consumer market. It's just that Apple products are more expensive than products with similar quality. I still say that Apple's keyboards last longer than the average consumer laptop keyboard (yes, even the "butterfly" keyboard that was failing in less than one year).
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2022, 06:40 PM   #11
Uranium-235
Comrade Glimmer
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,843
Default Re: new apple studio display uses capxon caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
Apple is not a "product" anymore, it's marketed as a "lifestyle" or a cult!
For once you and I are on the same page of what is considered a 'cult'

Apple does have one big advantage over windows/PC and that is software for connecting to other apple devices. My sister has a iphone, macbook and ipad and they easily share information, and communicate texts immediately between them.
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?