X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Crappy Vestel/Sharp LC-40FG3141K Set Backlight going off randomly

Hello
    Model Code Sharp LC-40FG3141K

Firstly perhaps I should save myself the agony and throw this set out ? Then again I hate E-waste , or giving a person further headace in the far east or Agbogbloshie . So I digress to my last hope of fixing this pile of shite , with the dash of hope from your combined experiences

So this set is randomly turning off its backlight ( could be days, hours, minutes or seconds ) , my research suggests this maybe an over current protection , or leaky/faulty LEDS , or a bad LED driver circuit . So I opened it up , stabbed my Multi Meter on its Backlight outputs and put peepers on the caps , hoping to see something . Caps look fine , no sign of shorts or open circuits on the caps , though I am no electrical engineer . I visually inspected the backlights, they all illuminate uniformly and temporarily blinded me in the process

The single board contains both hot and cold , power and brains of the set . There is no markings to indicate the designed Backlight LED output voltage, though this is measured as 112V in total , or 56V on each of the two rails . The voltage is very stable until it weirdly goes off and drops to half .

On a side note , I blindly guessed that this is a board problem . I did find replacement boards on Evilbay ( with same model and physically identical) , though to my dismay these boards are re-used across many (Vestel) white label brands and have different firmware and do not work correctly I tried
    Attached Files

Re: Crappy Vestel Set Backlight going off randomly

so this boards photo the original one??
    if yes. you need to re solder the transformer with white cover and the small yellow one too.

re solder them from up side and down because this boards sandwich and the big transformer missing 2 poll soldering at the top side which facing the small yellow one.. as i see from the photo.

Comment