Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2021, 12:53 PM   #1
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Hello all I have a 60 kg plasma 60pa6500 the picture started getting black spots . What's the issue thanks?
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg received_1020321578770125.jpeg (155.5 KB, 61 views)
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 02:12 PM   #2
Biruslapio
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: ST
My Country: Brasil
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 368
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Z-SUS or one of the buffer boards, are there any black horizontal lines across the entire screen?
Biruslapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 02:26 PM   #3
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

No lines as far as I can tell just blotchy and hazy black it worked fine last night and never had any issues with it before. I installed fans for the main board on the back case a few months ago powered by the usb plug
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 04:01 PM   #4
Biruslapio
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: ST
My Country: Brasil
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 368
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

The mainboard is the last thing that needs fans for this model, Y-SUS needs top cooling priority.

This fault seems like some resistor opened at Y-SUS or Z-SUS, or a buffer board is failing, test those for shorts.
Biruslapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 06:01 PM   #5
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Thanks which board?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210818_204205.jpg (436.7 KB, 14 views)
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 06:02 PM   #6
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Sorry it's a pn6500
Sorry for the long reply I was at work so my dad was watching the tv and the picture was normal then all of a sudden the picture went black and hazey in the picture attached to this post. I have the tv apart what should I try thanks

Last edited by pansatdishman; 08-18-2021 at 06:11 PM..
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 07:00 PM   #7
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Heres the discoloration
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210818_215821.jpg (884.1 KB, 33 views)
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 07:45 PM   #8
Biruslapio
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: ST
My Country: Brasil
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 368
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Ok, the PN is very different from the PA, I have a 60PM model, which is a PA with a better mainboard, don't know about the PN, this looks like a sustain problem.

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39829 this is a very old samsung with a similar problem, X-Main (Z-SUS for LG) failure, might be only cracked solder joints, take out your Z-SUS and Y-SUS and check them underneath.
Biruslapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 07:49 PM   #9
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

I also noticed when it's in if I hook my android box up to it and use the cursor the cursor makes a temporary haze and imprint where it was , if this helps narrow it down?
Thanks
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 07:51 PM   #10
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,075
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by pansatdishman View Post
Heres the discoloration
I like plasma! If that was an LCD, that's classic LCD pressure-damage!
__________________
ASRock B550 PG Velocita

Ryzen 5 "Vermeer" 5600X

32 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C18D-32GTZN

Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT

eVGA Supernova G3 750W

Western Digital Black SN850 1TB NVMe SSD




"¡Me encanta "Me Encanta o Enlistarlo con Hilary Farr"!" -mí mismo

"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Today's lesson in pissivity comes in the form of a ziplock baggie full of GPU extension brackets & hardware that for the last ~3 years have been on my bench, always in my way, getting moved around constantly....and yesterday I found myself in need of them....and the bastards are now nowhere to be found! Motherfracker!!" -Topcat

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 07:52 PM   #11
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Its plasma tv made in 2014
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 07:56 PM   #12
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,075
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by pansatdishman View Post
Its plasma tv made in 2014
A very-late one! I still wish I was able to snag a pristine one of those!

The closest we have, is one built in 2009, despite an excellent picture on ours, there's faint black spots, especially on the right of the screen, seen when it's all white on the screen. Is this a symptom of a hardware problem? I don't know right now. It honestly resembles dead LEDs on a recent LCD!
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 05:26 AM   #13
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Here's the z sustain board , does it look like theres anything wrong thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210820_080929.jpg (334.2 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg 20210820_080926.jpg (369.5 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg 20210820_080903.jpg (333.9 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg 20210820_080900.jpg (523.8 KB, 21 views)
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 06:36 AM   #14
chrismurphy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: adelaide
My Country: australia
Line Voltage: 240 volts 50 HZ
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 249
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Z sus is faulty just replace
chrismurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 06:38 AM   #15
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Is there a way to test and repair it, I'm assuming you had this issue as well? Thanks
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 09:08 AM   #16
Biruslapio
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: ST
My Country: Brasil
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 368
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Check resistance between the IGBTs, those 5 pin optocouplers, there can be no shorts between any of the pins of these 2 types of components. Low value resistors are also worth testing, they go open if a short occours in series with them.
Biruslapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 07:11 PM   #17
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Thanks. It doesnt look like theres any known cold solder joints, has anyone had this issue before?
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 07:49 PM   #18
Biruslapio
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: ST
My Country: Brasil
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 368
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

If you don't have the means to repair it, might as well buy a replacement Z-Board, it all points to it, the rest of the screen is properly displayed, and these black spots are a sign of a bad Z-SUS, it is cheap in my country, but may not be at yours.

If it's expensive and you want to repair it youself you need to probe with a multimeter the components I pointed at #16.
Biruslapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2021, 05:53 AM   #19
pansatdishman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Canada
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 101
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

Good morning, I've been looking for my other multimeter but moved and can only find this one, will this one work?
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210821_084303.jpg (328.7 KB, 14 views)
pansatdishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2021, 10:16 AM   #20
Biruslapio
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
City & State: ST
My Country: Brasil
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 368
Default Re: Lg 60pa6500 black spots on tv

yes, use the ohms scale.
Biruslapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?