Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2023, 04:34 AM   #1
keldeo
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
City & State: Altoona
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120, 60
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default How would you test after recapping a VRM?

Hi badcaps! Recently aquired an optiplex gx270 for $10. It was bad, it wouldn't even power on , it just flashed an amber LED and immediatly powered off. So I cracked it open and found 10 bad caps, 9 on the VRM one for the northbridge. All were Ruby MCZs. Now, I wasn't certain the caps were going to fix the issue and didn't wanna spend money on new caps, only for that to not work (again). So, I salvged some little yellow Fujitsu caps from another 478 board and I salvaged some KZGs from a newer HP board. (I know KZG, but they were free) So I now have 3 Fujitsu, and 6 KZGs, I ran Y-cruncher for about an hour and everything seemed stable. However, the caps did feel kinda hot to the touch. Another thing is there was a huge decrease in uf. With the Rubies, it had a total of 16200, now it's only 7680. Although I don't know if 1 hour of Y cruncher was enough stress, but I'm also not aware of any other ways to test with these replacement caps. How would you consider it stable?

Ninja edit: It just occured that the KZGs also have lower ripple!

Last edited by keldeo; 04-30-2023 at 04:39 AM..
keldeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2023, 10:44 AM   #2
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 11,249
Default Re: How would you test after recapping a VRM?

If it passes memtest, it's probably fine.

It's also fairly normal for the caps to run hot on these boards, due to the CPU running hot... though that will depend on what kind of cooler you have on the CPU. If you're running a Prescott, make sure it's a copper base heatsink with plenty and very large fins (i.e. lots of surface area.)

If the caps & VRM feel so hot to the touch that they burn your fingers instantly, then either your CPU cooler might not be good enough or the caps might be getting over-stressed. If running just "hot", then congratulations - you have a normal-running P4 board.

All in all, as long as the polymers were 820 uF in capacity, that VRM should be fine. 560 uF might be a little on the low side. Dell / Foxconn sometimes used 820 uF polymers and 1500 uF MCZ and Nichicon HN caps interchangeably on similar Dimension and Optiplex mobo models. The KZGs are not only lower-rated in ripple (about the same spec as Nichicon HM / Rubycon MBZ), but they also don't like heat so very likely won't last too long.

Anyways... IMO, just put Windows or Linux on that system and try it out. If it doesn't crash with regular use (after memtest), and if you feel like spending the time + money, get better caps (820-1200 uF polymers) for it and finish it once and for all.

Last edited by momaka; 05-01-2023 at 10:51 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2023, 12:22 PM   #3
keldeo
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
City & State: Altoona
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120, 60
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: How would you test after recapping a VRM?

Perfect, thanks momaka! I learned I have a normal Pentium 4 and as luck would have it, I found another junk motherboard , this one has 820uf Sanyo polymers on the VRM. I'll probably end up throwing those ones in.
keldeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2023, 05:48 PM   #4
Uranium-235
Comrade Glimmer
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,942
Default Re: How would you test after recapping a VRM?

GX270's and 280's had heat issues, they're common for bad caps
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2023, 08:22 PM   #5
keldeo
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
City & State: Altoona
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120, 60
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: How would you test after recapping a VRM?

I believe it, read a lot about that. Hopefully these oscons hold up, especially now I threw a Prescott in there, mainly for SSE3 support.

I've also got a GX260 that had 2 swollen HMs.
keldeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?