Digital Multimeter Fuse

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Digital Multimeter Fuse

Ok, first off, I'm a noob.... . Now that that's outta my system. I bought a Digital Multimeter, blew the fuse on the same day.... . It says in the manual that the fuse may fail due to user error... . The manual states that I should replace it with a F 500mAL 250V -Fast Action- fuse....
    That's where I'm stuck, I tried google but too no avail...Please help if you can. (I don't know where to get these fuses, and my nearest Radio Shack went out of business.

Re: Digital Multimeter Fuse

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...&keywords=fuse

then after some filtering few of the first results
    http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...me=507-1196-ND
    http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...me=507-1224-ND
    http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...me=507-1259-ND

apart from the current/voltage(500ma/250v) also note the size and wether it's fast or slow, you need and you'll be fine.

it really is not hard to get such fuses in any electronics store.
    and they're so cheap that getting them from online stores will probably be more expensive than visiting bigger town(? depending on your location, offcourse...i'm from europe so i can't say for sure)
    Last edited by i4004; 05-11-2009, 10:46 AM.

Comment

Look at the fuse and see what numbers are on it. Measure the fuse in millimeters length & diameter.

It's a 500 milliamp or 0.5 amp fuse for use up to 250 volts.

Report back.

Toast
      veritas odium parit

Comment

Thanks for the input. I did find this http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...56&tab=summary . But I don't know if 500mAL is the same as 0.5A. Thanks

Comment

it surely is.

for example
          500mA=0.5A
          and
          1000mA=1A

Comment

Originally posted by i4004
            it surely is.

for example
            500mA=0.5A
            and
            1000mA=1A