Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2009, 03:02 PM   #201
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by philpem
896MB EVGA GTX260 (the standard one, couldn't afford the "OMGWTFLOLBRB superoverclocked" one, and a stock '260 is fine for HL2, Portal, TimeShift and UT anyway)
"O-My-God-What-The-Fuck-Laugh-Out-Loud-Be-Right-Back".... never heard of that version of GPU. Must be cool, and must have it cool also.
__________________
There are 10 kind of people in this world: those that understand binary, and those who don't.
  • ASUS ROG Maximus IX Code
  • Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz
  • 16gb GSKILL TridentZ RGB DDR4-3200
  • 1 M2 SSD + 2 WD Blue 1TB (Mirrored)
  • Windows 10 Pro x64
  • GeForce GT1050
    2 x Acer KA240H + 1 Vewsonic VP2130 21 (a cap replacement job )
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 03:41 PM   #202
philpem
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by eguevarae
"O-My-God-What-The-Fuck-Laugh-Out-Loud-Be-Right-Back".... never heard of that version of GPU. Must be cool, and must have it cool also.


Seriously though, EVGA do have a GTX285 "FTW Edition". I do wonder what their marketing team were smoking when they came up with that one. To be fair, it is the fastest card they sell, so the name is justified, and it sort of fits in with the general naming scheme (GTX2xx, GTX2xx SuperClocked, GTX2xx SSC, GTX2xx FTW). I still think it's a silly name though

I budgeted for an 8800GT or something along those lines (can't remember off-hand) to start with, then got an email from the supplier that nearly everything I ordered (AMD Phenom CPU, motherboard, ...) was out of stock. I told them to scrap the whole thing, and that I'd put another order in later in the week... which I did.

I heard the Q6600s were VERY overclockable, so got one of those and a decent heatsink (the Zalman copper flower), picked an ASUS motherboard (IME they're quite reliable) to match, and the GTX260 because it was the "mutt's nuts" at the time. Built it all up in a cheap-junk case, and the whole thing promptly overheated (CPU Tcore = 61C on idle, and Timeshift crashed it -- a desk fan aimed at the side brought it down to 55C and stopped it crashing). Bought the 300, swapped the parts into that, and it's been working fine ever since.

It's been an adventure, but even if I could get back the three weeks I spent building and tweaking the machine, I wouldn't. That was half of the fun -- learning what worked and what didn't (and that a GTX260 and a Q6600 absolutely needed at least two BIG case fans to remove the heat )

The whole sorry exchange is on the Hexus forums somewhere. Search for posts by "philpem"

PCs. Gotta love 'em.

*walks away whistling the Portal ending theme tune, "Still Alive"
philpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 03:58 PM   #203
Gianni
Badcaps Veteran
 
Gianni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
City & State: Como, Italy
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 569
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by eguevarae
yeah, most people haven't seen one in their life. I remember that when I had mine, someone asked why I liked to use my mouse belly up.....
LOL!

Here my trackball family: the number 1 is the first I received from a friend, number 2 is for my system, number 3 is for my notebook, number 4 is... damn it is a mouse!!!
This mouse is a gift, it is a wireless type with rechargeable batteries... a stupid thing: it charges when the mouse is on the base and the PC is turned on... but if PC is turned on I need the mouse to work so it can't stay on the base and can't charge its battery and I don't like to keep the PC powered just to charge a stupid mouse.

Ok to tell the truth I hate wireless keyboard and wireless mouse because most of the time they don't work properly, in particular when you need to enter the BIOS or if battery is not charged at 100%, at least this is my experience.

Ciao
Gianni
Attached Images
File Type: jpg trackballs.jpg (101.0 KB, 40 views)
__________________
"In the confrontation between the stream and the rock, the stream always wins...Not through strength, but through persistence."
H. J. Brown

Last edited by Gianni; 03-11-2009 at 03:59 PM.. Reason: Typo
Gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 07:43 PM   #204
NxB
Badcaps Veteran
 
NxB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,587
Default Re: Post your system.......

I have a standard MS trackball. I don't like them too much but if you have no space they can't be beat. I remember when 1gb was a lot, then 40 and 100. I had like 16mb ram to start and thought 95 was great.

Now I have 2gb of ram and its not enough. Terra byte drives are out and ram sticks below 512mb are useless.
NxB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 07:55 PM   #205
KeriJane
Mac Enthusiast
 
KeriJane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Chicago! Run 4 your Life!
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 651
Default Re: Post your system.......

Arrrgh! I can't stand trackballs.

Apple's own Mighty Mouse is still my fave.


Someday I just gotta get the new, new 8-core Mac Pro with the new Xeons with hyperthreading for 16 virtual cores and the 6-channel memory That's just gotta tear up video rendering.

For now I'm stuck with a mere 4-core Quad channel memory Mac Pro chugging away insanely fastly.

Have Fun,
Keri

Yay! I got another Website going for a friend.
Or at least I made the custom logo for it and got it uploaded..
http://www.armanisculpture.com/
__________________
The More You Learn The Less You Know!
KeriJane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 08:11 PM   #206
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianni
LOL!

Here my trackball family: the number 1 is the first I received from a friend, number 2 is for my system, number 3 is for my notebook, number 4 is... damn it is a mouse!!!
This mouse is a gift, it is a wireless type with rechargeable batteries... a stupid thing: it charges when the mouse is on the base and the PC is turned on... but if PC is turned on I need the mouse to work so it can't stay on the base and can't charge its battery and I don't like to keep the PC powered just to charge a stupid mouse.

Ok to tell the truth I hate wireless keyboard and wireless mouse because most of the time they don't work properly, in particular when you need to enter the BIOS or if battery is not charged at 100%, at least this is my experience.

Ciao
Gianni
Mine was like the white one you have, except for teh fact that it was serial, the ball was green (in Logitech green tone) and it was not optical.
I am currently using a Logitech KBD & mouse, wireless set. They work flawlessly. One time, I took the keyboard to the kitchen, and started cleaning some stain my son left of God-knows what, and then I heard teh computer beeping...... two rooms away, the keyboard was sending my "keystrokes" to the CPU.....
And as for teh batteries, I have a 4pack of rechargeable batteries always in the charger, for my son's camera, one of the xBox 360 controllers, or my keyboard and mouse, which use AA batteries. The only time the keyboard died on me so far, I was Playing Diablo II:Lord of Destruction online, and I was almost killed because I use the keyboard to togle the run/walk, and to drink potions from my belt. It was really funny to see a level 35 Paladin running for his life because he can't drink recovery potions. The mouse? it dies a ot, because I use it a lot. But I have a USB battery charger attached to the front of my rig that provides freshly charged batteries for the dying rodent ..... but I miss my trackball. Maybe I'll buy one as soon as I get a decent job...
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 08:14 PM   #207
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by NxB
I have a standard MS trackball. I don't like them too much but if you have no space they can't be beat. I remember when 1gb was a lot, then 40 and 100. I had like 16mb ram to start and thought 95 was great.

Now I have 2gb of ram and its not enough. Terra byte drives are out and ram sticks below 512mb are useless.
I remember that times too. I used to have an "amazing amount of memory installed" (literal description of one of my teachers back then) 24MB 72pin EDO RAM. Now you can't even open a web browser without eating that much RAM.
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 01:44 PM   #208
JohnBiggs
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
City & State: Columbia MD
Posts: 13
Default Re: Post your system.......

lol. Sorry I wasn't here through the years. I would have had monthly updates to this one.

Now I am running a Dell Server (got it cheap from dell) with Dual Quad Core xeon 1.6ghz with 4GB of FB ram.

Only kinda hacking I have in it is this 'server' only has an x8 PCI Express slot so I had to cut half the pins off my x16 video card to make it fit in the slot.

John
JohnBiggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 12:53 AM   #209
UraBahn
Scrapheap Hound
 
UraBahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
City & State: Woodland, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 153
Default Urabahn's Systems UPDATE

Alright, things have changed around here quite a bit lately...

My Main System: Acer Extensa 5420 Laptop

AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual-Core TK-57 @ 1.9GHz
2GB PC2-6400 SODIMM RAM (hard as heck to find around where I am )
ATI Radeon Xpress 1250 IGP (256MB discrete RAM)
120GB Hitachi 5400RPM SATA HDD
Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Marvell Yukon Gigabit NIC
Very nice 15.4" WXGA CrystalBrite widescreen + Crystal Eye webcam
DVD-DL Drive
Undersized power brick that gets VERY HOT after charging + running the system at the same time :P

It may not sound like much, but under Windows 7 and Xubuntu it's more than adequate for my needs. (It blows my single-cored Celeron 420 out of the water...)

(Almost) all my other systems have been scrapped, traded off, currently non-operational, shared with other family members or 386/486 machines.
__________________
The ever-amazing (and ever-affordable) KY, Chemi-con's best kept secret.

I'll probably be the only person going to SteamOS once it gets out of beta (ha ha.)

Last edited by UraBahn; 04-19-2009 at 12:56 AM..
UraBahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 06:07 PM   #210
lightingguy32
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
City & State: vestal, ny
Posts: 14
Default Re: Post your system.......

Primary system:
Dell Latitude E6500.
1440*900 WXGA+ LED backlit screen
LED backlit keyboard
Core 2 Duo P8700 (2.53gHz/3M L2 Cache)
250GB SATA hard drive (7200RPM)
Nvidia Quadro NVS 160M
2GB DDR2-800mhz
DVD +/-RW 8x

Desktop:
Optiplex 760 Minitower
Core 2 Duo 3.00ghz
160GB hard drive
16x DVD +/- RW optical drive
2GB DDR2-800mhz
ATI Radeon 3450(?)
old NEC Multisync 18" LCD
lightingguy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 01:12 PM   #211
pantherts
Member
 
pantherts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
City & State: Bethesda, MD
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 64
Default Re: Post your system.......

My Main Rig:
Pentium 4 640 3.2GHz (overclocked to 4GHz)
Asus P5AD2-E Premium
2 GB Corsair Pro DDR2 (PC2-5300)
2x75Gb Western Digital Raptor (Dual-boot setup, XP Pro and Debian Linux)
2x1Tb Western Digital RE2 Enterprise Class (Storage Drives)
XFX 7800GTX
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Thermaltake Shark case
Thermaltake BigTyphoon CPU cooler
Pioneer DVD +/- RW Drive

For cooling purposes I replaced all cheapo white thermal pads on the motherboard and graphics card with Arctic Silver thermal compound. Easily dropped my temp over 10 degrees Celsius. With this aged system I'm still able to play the newest games at very decent FPS.
pantherts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 12:05 AM   #212
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,690
Default Re: Post your system.......

sorry no pics- ill post some later

all machines run ubuntu linux
desktop:

compaq presario 7000

pIII 866

768 mb ram

ati radeon 7000

160gb hd

dvd burner and 52x cd burner (sep. drives)

4 usb 1.1 (2ft, 2bk) and 4 usb 2.0 on card

(connected to usb card) internal card reader

wintv go analog tuner ntsc

10/100 network card

floppy drive

laptop:

eee pc 1000h

160gb hard drive (10g backup, 80gb winxp home, 60gb ubuntu)

3 usb2.0

1.3 mp webcam

wireless n/ gigabit ethernet

sd card reader

1.6 ghz atom

1gb ram

dolby sound room speakers (built in, yet LOUD

serverstation (comibination server and workstation)

mostly TBA- board died, still getting a new one...

will have: dual monitors, old proteva case modded to have 2 fans side by side in cd rom bays/3 cd rom bys gutted to make room for eatx boards/custom vents--ill post pics later, 4.1 channel sound, twin cpus (i hope...), usb 2.0 4 port card w/internal header, 430w agi ps

i also had other desktops, but they are gutted/being traded

not bad for a 16 year old sopo-junior (summer between)
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 02:23 AM   #213
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,690
Default Re: Post your system.......

update on server

finally built:

asus cuv4x-e (bought from gg1978)

PIII 800mhz (oc'd to 828 (will be more once i upgrade from stock cooler)

1gb pc133

chieftec case with 4 80mm fans

compaq 300w ps (rebadged delta) with extra fan attached

4.1 channel soundblaster card

nvidia geforce4 64mb w/ old socket 7 fan zip tied to heatsink

4port via usb2.0 card

netgear 10/100 lan

dvd-rom/cdrw drive, highspeed cdrw drive

320gb hd (160gb network access partition, rest for os)

floppy drive

ubuntu 9.04 (compizfusion makes it look better than windows aero)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 12:31 AM   #214
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,690
Default Re: Post your system.......

more on the emachine

it will soon get a new(er) mobo, fan, and cpu

the upgrade kit is a Keriproductions (thank you kerijane)

current specs
p4 775 presscot 2.8 ht, 1.5 gb ddr (512mb x3), 250gb sata hd, dvrrom/cdrw, cdrw, 7 usb2.0 (4 back, 3 front), internal card reader, 3 firewire (1back 2 front), built in ethernet 10/100, built in sound, integrated graphix, stock case, POS cooler, modified delta 350 w 20+4 psu

now 4 pics



inside of case

cpu fan reversed for better airflow



custom wiring on psu for better airflow (no unused wires/ excess wire)



missing pci-e 16x slot, reason why it needed an upgrade
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 07-14-09_0038.jpg (29.4 KB, 177 views)
File Type: jpg 07-14-09_0039.jpg (36.9 KB, 177 views)
File Type: jpg 07-14-09_0040.jpg (48.1 KB, 177 views)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 02:27 PM   #215
s0lid
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
City & State: Finland, Oulu
Posts: 12
Default Re: Post your system.......

Well let's see, on my far left side on the desk is the i7 rig,
W3520 @ 3.5GHz, boxed cooling
Dfi LP DK X58, like i'd remember the whole name
6GB of CSX CES 1600Mhz ddr3
7600GT
300W aopen (fortron) psu, 500W BQT don't work with this board >:(
40GB Ide HDD with 64x vista
no case, this computer is in test bench

This is basicly just crunching WCG :P

Right next to me at left is most recent resurrection:
2x 800Mhz P3 @ 882Mhz, boxed coolers
Msi 694D Pro with new 1500uF 6.3V panasonic caps
3x 128Mb 133Mhz sdram
TNT2
500W BQT, a "little" over kill
6GB Maxtor with XP, testing only
no case, mobo lyis on 25mm piece of mdf and hdd on psu.

Now the computer i'm using at this moment.
Athlon X2 7750 @ 2.9GHz, watercooled
Asus M3A76-CM
4GB of 800Mhz DDR2
HD3850
500W Nexus NX5000
160+250GB Sata HHDs with x64 Vista
Intel 1Gb NIC
this have actually case, modded Apple G5 Powermac case for matx boards, no sign of modding outside, oringinal i/o panel is used (well atleast usbs are atm...)

Here's picture with 7600GT
__________________
Same s0lid from XS and 2cpu forums.
s0lid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:23 PM   #216
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,928
Default Re: Post your system.......

Who makes BQT psu's?

Suprised a low-end fsp can power something like a I7 rig.
__________________
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:01 PM   #217
shadow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Posts: 725
Default Re: Post your system.......

I know. I am also surprised that a 300W Fortron can handle an i7 based PC.

I have a sneaky suspicion that this "BQT 500W" PSU can't deliver anything near 500W.

However after a quick google search I found that BQT is the acronym for the Be Quiet brand. According to a poster on another forum, BQT power supplies are Seasonic or CWT units. The innards look pretty good for a few of the power supplies that I have seen on the Internet.

Maybe the BQT that you have is a fake. Or possibly faulty.
I just do not see how a 500W Seasonic or CWT power supply can not handle an i7 rig yet a cheapy but reasonable 300W power supply can.
shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:30 PM   #218
pentium
Badcaps Veteran
 
pentium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
City & State: Kamloops BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,697
Default Re: Post your system.......

Finally, I can run Mirrors Edge.




Motherboard: MSI 865PE-Neo2 PLS (basically the Platinum "P" version with several very minor chnages)
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 HT @ 3.2Ghz
Ram: 3 x 1Gb PC3200 400Mhz DDR ram + 1 x 512Mb PC3200 400Mhz DDR ram (oddly enough, the system has yet to complain about that extra 512 stick)
Video: Sapphire Radeon HD3850 AGP
PhysX: Ageia PhysX PCI PPU card
Sound: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2ZS Platinum
Scsi: Adaptec AHA-2940
Hard disk storage: Dual Hitachi 1Tb SATA drives.
SSD: Not installed but ready for one
PSU: corsair VX550 550W power supply.
Opticals:
-NEC DVD/CD-RW drive
-NEC DVD-RW drive (now a dual layer drive with a firmware flash)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional

Additional things:
-Dual floppy (both 3 1/2" and 5 1/4")
-Memory card reader
-128Mb Magneto optical drive (so I can operate another system)
-100Mb IDE Zip drive
-Enough Firewire and USB ports to make your head spin (8 and 18 respectively)



EDIT: Forgot to add that I had to take cooling into serious consideration on this system. God damn this thing runs a lot warmer than my last system.
__________________
Find Nedry!


Check the Vending machines!!

<----Computer says I need more beer.

Last edited by pentium; 07-14-2009 at 09:33 PM..
pentium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:23 PM   #219
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,928
Default Re: Post your system.......

I've posted specs about it, but not pictures yet.

Here is my main computer.

Rosewill cheap crap case
HEC Zephyr 750W
Biostar Tpower N750 (100% UCC solid caps)
Athlon 64 X2 5000+ stock 2.6ghz
4gb OCZ vista upgrade ddr2-800
320gb WDC 16mb cache single platter
PNY 9800gt 512mb
Vista business 64bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by pentium
EDIT: Forgot to add that I had to take cooling into serious consideration on this system. God damn this thing runs a lot warmer than my last system.
He he. Thats where I just upgraded. The side fan was from a Sun Sunfire 880 server, its a 240cfm nidec ta600dc (made in america ) 172mm, pulling air out from around my graphics cards/NB area. The front fan is pulling air from outside into the case, it is a nidec va350dc 110cfm 92mm fan, the rear fan is the same and blows into the case, as is the cpu fan that pulls through the cpu cooler. My cpu stays at room temp no matter what. That is, if you can stand the noise, no speed control here.



Attached Images
File Type: jpg finished 004small.JPG (57.6 KB, 154 views)
File Type: jpg finished 005small.JPG (76.3 KB, 153 views)
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:25 PM   #220
Phaihn
Badcaps Veteran
 
Phaihn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Edson, Alberta
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 749
Default Re: Post your system.......

My main System A custom built Pentium 4 HT 3ghz was 2.8ghz.
3 gbs ram 512 MB Video Card.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF2097.JPG (322.0 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF2108.JPG (299.9 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF2103.JPG (239.0 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF2096.JPG (199.7 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF2105.JPG (242.0 KB, 23 views)
Phaihn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?