Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2006, 06:28 PM   #61
tylerlough
Member
 
tylerlough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 89
Default Re: Post your system.......

Main system: (build by me 2/04)
P4 Northwood 800FSB 2.8Ghz @ 3.5Ghz
Albatron 865PE Pro II (recapped w/nichicon HE)
1024MB PC3200 PQI turbo 2.5-3-3-7
BFG FX5200 Ultra (383/763)
19in CRT Env!sion
Aspire X-dreamer II (silver)
2yr old Turbolink 350watt (L&C)
6 80mm case fans
160GB WD
NEC 16x dvd-rw
speakers: Logitech x-620 (6.1)
Onboard 7.1 sound (Via ENVY 24-PT)
Future upgrade: Sapphire X1600Pro 256MB

Laptop:
HP Omnibook 6000
PIII 1000MHz/700MHz
ram:256MB
floppy drive
no battery
screen blurs when moved

Dad's computer
HP with Asus mobo
PII 350MHz
Ram: 256MB

Brother's system
asrock Mobo
sempron 2500+@ 2.0GHz
OCZ PC4000 256MB
onboard video
17in ctr
1996 Gateway 2000 case
3 case fans
250watt dell psu (I think it is better than my turbolink)
speakers: kenwood 600watt 5.1
wireless LAN

Last edited by willawake; 03-17-2006 at 06:55 PM.. Reason: typo (friendly edit)
tylerlough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 06:43 PM   #62
tylerlough
Member
 
tylerlough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 89
Default Re: Post your system.......

some pics
Attached Images
File Type: jpg comp 012.jpg (436.6 KB, 122 views)
File Type: jpg comp 015.jpg (334.3 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg comp 014.jpg (399.4 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg comp 010.jpg (418.1 KB, 82 views)
File Type: jpg comp 016.jpg (448.1 KB, 67 views)
tylerlough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 02:21 AM   #63
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,523
Default Re: Post your system.......

Two Warnings tylerlough; do not install the harddrive at a tilted angle, it is very dangerous for the heads can crash due to having to work in an inclination. Any kind of 90 angle is fine but never tilted

Also make sure that those capacitors in your L&C are fine, failed capacitors in an L&C can cause catastrophic failure!
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 02:04 PM   #64
tylerlough
Member
 
tylerlough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 89
Default Re: Post your system.......

I will have to change how that drive is installed, I did that to allow the two fans in the front to blow directly on the bottom.

That L&C had 3 of its caps replaced when I did the mobo recap

Thanks for the advice
tylerlough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 12:53 AM   #65
stretch0069
Screwed Up Super Moderator
 
stretch0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: OKC
My Country: oooo ess aaaaaaaaa
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: Post your system.......

Well....in light of the recent Folding fun, I thought I'd post my toys. I left out the boring stuff like cases, PSs, and drives. Pics will follow. I just got off work and the only thing I'm interested in lifting is the glass of 7&7.


1 Gigabyte GA-6VXC7-4X, P3 933MHz, 500MB Crucial CAS 2, ATI Radeon 8500 64MB, SB Audigy Gamer, 3Com Etherlink 3 3C509B

2 - ABIT IC7-G MAXII, 3.0GHz P4, 1GB Corsair (PC 3200), ATI Radeon 9600XT 128MB, on-board audio and Gigabit ethernet

3 - ABIT AT8 32X, AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+, 4GB CORSAIR XMS (4 x 1GB) (PC 3200), ATI Radeon X1600PRO 512MB, on-board audio and Gigabit ethernet

4 Abit VP6, dual P3(FC-PGA) 1GHz, 2GB Crucial CAS 2, ATI Radeon 8500 64MB, SB PCI 128, Tekram 390UW, DC1000w/DV, Linksys LNE100TX

5 Abit VP6, dual P3(FC-PGA2) 1GHz, 1GB Crucial CAS 2, ATI Radeon 7200 32MB, SB Live, Linksys LNE100TX


Wrapping it all together: 19 ADI monitor, MS ErgoKeyboard, Logitech Mousman Optical working through a Belkin OmniView 4 port KVM, and the talkie-talkie stuff going through a Netgear GS608 Gigabit switch.
__________________
"Its all about the boom....."

Guns kill people like spoons made Rosie O'Donnell fat.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled drinking.

"Fear accompanies the possibility of death.....calm shepherds its certainty"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat
AWD is just training wheels for RWD.
stretch0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2006, 08:19 PM   #66
tylerlough
Member
 
tylerlough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 89
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by stretch0069
3 - ABIT AT8 32X, AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+, 4GB CORSAIR XMS (4 x 1GB) (PC 3200), ATI Radeon X1600PRO 512MB, on-board audio and Gigabit ethernet
Hey Mikey how good does that ATI X1600Pro run, any heat issues.
I'm looking at Getting the Sapphire version of that card
How is it for games? Can you run alot at max or close?
Does that AVIVO thing work like it should?
If it does is it really that useful.
Thanks in advance
tylerlough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 03:08 PM   #67
stretch0069
Screwed Up Super Moderator
 
stretch0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: OKC
My Country: oooo ess aaaaaaaaa
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: Post your system.......

Hey tyler...I'm usually not so late in getting back to people, but I was in transit the last couple days.

I haven't run any games yet. I don't even have temp monitoring set up yet. Right now, about the only thing I can tell you is that if it were me, I would stay as far away from sapphire as possible. I had a sappy radeon 9something hundred. It took me a week to get the right combo of drivers and the console SW to get it working right. On top of that, the DVI NEVER worked. Neither the saps or the place I bought it from gave a tinker's damn about it. So I just flat stick with "Built by ATI"

I'm going to try a couple games here. I'm not up on all the testing stuff that will and TC know, so I might not be to good of a source.......but I'll try.


Cheers
stretch0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 09:58 PM   #68
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,523
Default Re: Post your system.......

Well, it's actually Sapphire that makes the "Built by ATI" cards too so :P
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 11:29 PM   #69
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default Re: Post your system.......

New system:
Mainboard: Biostar Tforce 6100-939
HDD: WD 40Gb
RAM: 2-512 Corsair XMS
CDRW: Liteon 52x32x52
PSU: AMS Mercury PP-44603
CPU: A64 3500+
Beige Box.
__________________
Ya'll think us folk from the country's real funny-like, dontcha?

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of BADCAPS.NET or any of their affiliates.
MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 06:45 AM   #70
tiresias
Badcaps Veteran
 
tiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
City & State: Netherlands
Posts: 485
Default Re: Post your system.......

Aha! A "post your system"...I hadn't done this yet.

We have five machines here that could be considered to be 'in one piece':

1. The Emergency Computer (ie. the last thing you'd want to use in an emergency). It's a very beaten up old K7S5A Pro in an old compaq box.

2 & 3. The kids have each 'built' their own machine. Both use AMD XP-M CPUs on a VIA KT600 chipset motherboard. Since the machines are practically only used for gaming (and very rarely, homework ), they both have a graphics card installed. (ATI Radeon 9800Pro by MSI and 9600Pro by Asus)

4. My 'very own' workstation as it currently stands:

- AMD Opteron 165
- Tyan S2865G2NR board
- 2x512M Kingston ECC RAM
- 2 x WD Caviar RE 160M on the sata
- LiteON/Supermicro PSU Model 0060 (You saw that one coming!)
- Hercules Fortissimo 4 sound card
- All contained in a Yeong Yang W201B server box
- Printer, monitor, surge protector, bits & bobs, etc etc.

5. My wife's machine, the 'connected one':

- AMD Athlon 64 3000-series CPU
- MSI K8N Neo2 motherboard
- 4x256M Corsair Valueselect
- 200M IDE, 160M and 80M sata drives, all WD Caviar SE
- Enermax 'Coolergiant' 480W PSU
- Asus nVIDIA Geforce 6800 GPU
- Creative Audigy 2 ZS sound card
- Hauppauge video capture card
- All contained in an Inwin X710 tower
- Even more bits and bobs than my machine.
tiresias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 09:15 AM   #71
arneson
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: SWF
Posts: 1,258
Default Re: Post your system.......

I have a problem with my bits and bobs.
Each one seems to have a wire attached.
They wrap around me so when I stand up the computer gets pulled off the desk.
Even the seat I sit in is fully wired.
I may be like a cyborg or something..
__________________
Jim
arneson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 01:47 PM   #72
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,693
Default Re: Post your system.......

bits and bobs????? WTH is that?
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Motherboard Repair Services

----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 02:10 PM   #73
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
I have a problem with my bits and bobs. Each one seems to have a wire attached.
hey this is a family forum
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 02:45 PM   #74
stretch0069
Screwed Up Super Moderator
 
stretch0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: OKC
My Country: oooo ess aaaaaaaaa
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat
bits and bobs????? WTH is that?

its an English thing....I think.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Per
Well, it's actually Sapphire that makes the "Built by ATI" cards too so :P
Well....not on my 9200 (i think that was the model#). I had the crap from Sapphire that was "Built with ATI technology" and one from ATI that was "Built by ATI" and they were quite different boards. I have always used ATI and never had a problem. I've done some nVidia and "Built with ATI technology" boards (trying to help friends who did not head my advice) and had nothing but frustration. On the same token, I've heard of people having good luck with them as well as some having bad. I've just been unlucky with them.

Last edited by stretch0069; 05-09-2006 at 02:51 PM..
stretch0069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 07:36 AM   #75
tiresias
Badcaps Veteran
 
tiresias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
City & State: Netherlands
Posts: 485
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by stretch0069
its an English thing....I think.
Absolutely! I'm practically addicted to bits and bobs.

It's funny how often I'm led into thinking that any particular expression (many of which I use all the time) is "international English", when in fact it may be typically British.

After all, it's much easier to spot this:

Americans often use expression X, unlike other English speakers, hence X must be typically American.

than this:

I've never noticed any American using expression Y, hence Y may be an idiom they're not familiar with.

Perhaps most surprising of all is how often people can see that I'm not American merely by my style of writing, despite the fact that I always do the utmost to make my English seem "international". I'm totally not aware of it myself, but I must be betraying my origins even without having to use such silly expressions as "Jolly good show, old boy".
tiresias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 10:25 AM   #76
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,523
Default Re: Post your system.......

stretch0069; I did not mean to say that Sapphire does not also make their own customized boards, but they along with those also makes the real "Built by ATI" cards... Atleast it was like that a few years ago when I was revieweing stuff... Sapphire told me themselves so...

tiresias; The "Location: Netherlands" kinda gives you away dont'ya think? :P
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 12:42 PM   #77
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,693
Default Re: Post your system.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiresias
Absolutely! I'm practically addicted to bits and bobs.

It's funny how often I'm led into thinking that any particular expression (many of which I use all the time) is "international English", when in fact it may be typically British.

After all, it's much easier to spot this:

Americans often use expression X, unlike other English speakers, hence X must be typically American.

than this:

I've never noticed any American using expression Y, hence Y may be an idiom they're not familiar with.

Perhaps most surprising of all is how often people can see that I'm not American merely by my style of writing, despite the fact that I always do the utmost to make my English seem "international". I'm totally not aware of it myself, but I must be betraying my origins even without having to use such silly expressions as "Jolly good show, old boy".
Interesting explanation, but that still doesnt tell me what the hell 'bits and bobs' are..... LOL
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2006, 07:28 AM   #78
yanz
Badcaps Veteran
 
yanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
City & State: Dago, Bandung, Indonesia
Posts: 833
Default Re: Post your system.......

back to topic, these are my system:

EpoX 9NPA | A64 3000+ Venice | Corsair Value 2x 518MB | HIS X300SE (OST craps, ough..) | Seagate 120GB SATA | Liteon DVDRW | Silverstone Strider 400W

Epox 8GF6100-M | A64 3000+ | Kingston 518MB | Seagate 120GB SATA | Liteon DVDRW | Silverstone Strider 360W

Epox 8K3A | AXP 1700+ | Visipro 256MB | R9700 Pro | Seagate 80GB PATA | Asus CDRW 4012a | Thermaltake TWV 480W

Abit NF7S | Duron 1800MHz | Seitec 256MB | Powercolor GF2MX400 | Liteon CRROM 52x | Samsung 40GB | HEC 250W

Abit KT7 | Nvidia NV1 PCI VGA | Visipro 128MB | Quantum Fireball 1.2GB :P |

and many more for sale, easy come easy go
yanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2006, 10:44 AM   #79
MD Willington
Badcaps Veteran
 
MD Willington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
City & State: WA, USA.
Posts: 702
Default Re: Post your system.......

Just thought I'd add the minimal bench build pic:

MD Willington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2006, 11:31 PM   #80
arneson
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: SWF
Posts: 1,258
Default Re: Post your system.......

Bread boarding?
arneson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?