Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Appliances and other Household Electronic Stuff
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2022, 04:32 PM   #1
Welchs101
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
Posts: 783
Default Need new part for microwave

Hi, my microwave quit working today after my daughter made something and i think i found the problem. i am enclosing a few pics of what i "THINK" is a thermal fuse.......it has "KSD1" .....and "160/" on the front of it....but i am not sure what this means or where to buy it.

when i measure across this device it measures an "open" so i and i think it should be a short......

thoughts on where i can get a replacement device?
thoughts on if this is thermal fuse and should measure a short?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20220411_172449.jpg (702.0 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg 20220411_173119.jpg (418.5 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg overall_pic.jpg (242.9 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by Welchs101; 04-11-2022 at 04:35 PM..
Welchs101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2022, 05:45 PM   #2
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

It's a bimetal thermal switch. It should open up if what it's mounted on gets too hot. It should close again when what it's mounted on cools.

On eBay, https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw...22aefafcdb677e
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
****************************
Anti-Covid-Vaxxer pig crap claim/prediction, Doctor: Heart Failure from mRNA Jabs "Will Kill Most People" | Principia Scientific Intl. ; Dr. Geert Vanden Bossche Warns COVID-19 Jab Injuries and Deaths Will Soon "Collapse Our Health System" (VIDEO) ; Fully Vaxxed May 2021; Since that time I've done 10 5Ks, 1 8K, 8 10Ks, and 4 half marathons
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2022, 06:11 PM   #3
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: Russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,681
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

Bimetal thermostat type KSD

Response temperature: 160 +/- 5 С
Temperature : release -130 +/- 15 С
Switching scheme : SPST NC - normally closed contact
Working voltage : 250V
Rated current : 10 A
lotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2022, 06:28 PM   #4
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,753
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

You should be able to find one at an appliance repair shop, or on line KSD1-160
It should reset but is likely defective, for a temporary fix, try taping the silver part with a screwdriver handle or similar, then check if it reset, this might get it going until you get a new part.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2022, 06:43 PM   #5
Welchs101
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
Posts: 783
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

think its ok to buy this used one?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/15493592052...IAAOSwKOdiTayW
Welchs101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2022, 08:14 PM   #6
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,753
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welchs101 View Post
Why buy a used part, here
https://www.buyspares.com/thermostat...pl?pid=1906318 about $9.00 for the part, and $9.00 shipping

I'm sure there are lots of other sources, check locally, it should be a common part

Last edited by R_J; 04-11-2022 at 08:19 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 08:08 AM   #7
Welchs101
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
Posts: 783
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

i checked this morning at my local appliance parts store and they said they dont sell that particular part so i am going to have to order it online.

?SHould i do as someone suggested where i short out the current bad part just to make sure that the microwave will turn on?

Thoughts?
Welchs101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 11:36 AM   #8
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,009
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

You could do this BUT I would not recommend that you run it in the bypass mode other than just for testing it
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 12:56 PM   #9
Welchs101
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
Posts: 783
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

ok so i shorted the thermal switch and power returned to microwave........so thats the good news.

so now i am trying find the part. i prefer not to use ebay just because its ebay and i have had issues with it in the past. i have also had really good experiences but when they are bad its hard to get money back. anyway, i was wondering if its possible to identify the manufacturer for the KSD1 160 part?

Any ideas?
Welchs101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 02:10 PM   #10
Welchs101
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
Posts: 783
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

quick question for you all.

Do you think the "/" in the 160/ is important. The reason i ask is i have found some replacements where what is shown on the "lid" has the 160 but no "/"

i finally found the actual part number and its WB27X11210
https://www.geapplianceparts.com/sto...pec/WB27X11210

if you go on ge's web site and sure enough this part , which is kinda expensive relative to how much a new machine costs, has the "/" .......so i am just wondering if the parts that have 160 but no "/" if they will really work or not

thoughts?
Welchs101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 02:37 PM   #11
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,753
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

The / is not important, KSD1 is the series 160 is the temperature rating. Do you really want to pay $50.00 + s&h for it?

Some are listed kds1.160, kds1/160, kds1-160
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 03:16 PM   #12
Welchs101
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: Cary, NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
Posts: 783
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

no i dont want to pay ~ $50 for the "/" part since i can buy a brand new microwave for ~ $150.........

But paying say $15 for a part and seeing if this works is fine.......so i may do this but only if the "non /" part is the same as the one that has the "/"..........

any idea why it has the "/" on some parts and not on others?
Welchs101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 03:26 PM   #13
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,753
Default Re: Need new part for microwave

I do not know why some put a slash on the end, normally it is between the ksd1/160 to separate the part series from the temperature rating, that's all.
If it was made in China or some other country like it, they sometimes mark things different,
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?