Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Appliances and other Household Electronic Stuff
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2022, 05:12 AM   #1
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Hi friends, I have this vacuum robot at home that is not starting any more, no leds working, power button doing nothing, battery reading seems ok arround 14.4v, I suspect that mainboard is faulty, seems that there is not any clear brand model on it, and of course could not find any schematic. The trand of the vacuum is the Roidmi SDJ01RM, on some sites appears as vacuum mop Eve plus 60 or similar

If any one could point for where to start... would appreciate, new board is quite expensive arround 100 USD or more

Many thanks and Merry Christmas to all
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20221224_120303.jpg (1.05 MB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20221224_120354.jpg (711.3 KB, 18 views)
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 08:44 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

yours or a customers?
if your very lucky the fault will be a sensor or switch.
that board looks like a nightmare to work on - sprayed with plastic coating on black fiberglass.

best solution is this frankly!
https://numatic.com/products/cleanca...l-dry-vacuums/
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 09:53 AM   #3
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,538
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

check fuses if switches work
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 01:54 AM   #4
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
yours or a customers?
if your very lucky the fault will be a sensor or switch.
that board looks like a nightmare to work on - sprayed with plastic coating on black fiberglass.

best solution is this frankly!
https://numatic.com/products/cleanca...l-dry-vacuums/
It's mine, personal use, yeah, the coating don't let guess much about... but is somewhat expensive to let it die, sheaves of dust are rioting around now...
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 01:57 AM   #5
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
check fuses if switches work
Thanks, will try to check for that
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2022, 08:51 AM   #6
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

There are 3 fuses on the board, all of them seem OK, continuity to ground pins on both sides

I tried to check the main switch, but couldn't figure how to check this ones, there are 12 pins wired, tested several combinations but not found any on/off activity.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sin-título-1.jpg (1.08 MB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg Sin-título-2.jpg (964.0 KB, 12 views)
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2023, 03:04 AM   #7
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Well working again these days with some free time, accidentally checked that the power button is ok, if pressed, with a new battery connected (just to discard that) there was a part of a board getting hot, I have some sensibility damage on my hands, and the temperature takes some time to me to be detected, but seems that one chip with a 6118A heats when the power on button is pressed.

Is a voltage regulator, should it be on short? or something is in short making it being hot? Will try to make come reads on it.

Any help would be appreciated as always
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PHO00000.jpg (453.1 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg P1050157a.jpg (1.11 MB, 10 views)
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2023, 04:10 AM   #8
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: Russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,697
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

These are LDO Regulators at 3.3V Check the resistance at the output, if it is low, then look for what could be shorting on this bus.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf MICRONE-Nanjing-Micro-One-Elec-ME6118A33B3G.pdf (644.6 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by lotas; 02-09-2023 at 04:15 AM..
lotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2023, 05:07 PM   #9
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,558
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Hmm… continuity on both sides of the fuses to GND? I guess you got a short somewhere.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2023, 01:45 AM   #10
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
These are LDO Regulators at 3.3V Check the resistance at the output, if it is low, then look for what could be shorting on this bus.
There is a short to ground at the input Vin pin (center one) how the hell warms up then?it's earthed on 2 pins of three.
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2023, 01:53 AM   #11
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Hmm… continuity on both sides of the fuses to GND? I guess you got a short somewhere.
Was strange for me too, maybe on the input side from the battery, hard for me without any scheme of the board
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2023, 08:07 AM   #12
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

remove the regulator and then check the resistance of the input and output pads on the pcb to ground.
do it in both directions incase there is a diode involved
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2023, 08:42 AM   #13
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
remove the regulator and then check the resistance of the input and output pads on the pcb to ground.
do it in both directions incase there is a diode involved
Just done;

Between
P1 GND to GND - 0,3 Ohms
P2 VIN to GND - 1,3 Ohms
P3 Vout to GND- variable stopted at 30,70K
Inverse:
P1 GND to GND - 0,3 Ohms
P2 VIN to GND - 1,3 Ohms
P3 Vout to GND- variable stopted at 46,00K
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2023, 08:46 AM   #14
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Before removing the regulator, just tested voltages at that pin regulator pin 2, somewhat confused, but with the battery plugged, on the Vin there where 14,4v (same as battery +) GND was OK, no heat, until power pressed, the heat appears again. Could be a good idea inject 3v on the Vout line?

Last edited by ex250; 02-10-2023 at 09:04 AM..
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2023, 09:36 AM   #15
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Well, 3,3v injected at the VOut pin and nothing seems to be heated, the power supply also not revealed any amp of consumption, I have supposed that 3,3v is the maximum for the /33 on the regulator.
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2023, 05:59 AM   #16
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by ex250 View Post
Well, 3,3v injected at the VOut pin and nothing seems to be heated, the power supply also not revealed any amp of consumption, I have supposed that 3,3v is the maximum for the /33 on the regulator.
I'm stupid, injected on the Vin side, make a mistake reading and the Vout is the pin 2 of the regulator.

Tested the regulator alone for proper working and it's ok, 14v in 3,28 out.

Injected with caution from 1v on the out pin, and this time, correctly, and the U9 chip heats up quickly evaporating alcohol, it's named 12608D, I don't know it's function, maybe try a new one in place? it's a gyroscope?

Any ideas?

Last edited by ex250; 02-11-2023 at 06:12 AM..
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2023, 07:55 AM   #17
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: Russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,697
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Rather, it is not 12608D, but I2608D aka (INVENSENSE ICM-20608D LGA-16 ACCELEROMETER + GYRO MULTI SENSOR I2608D)

https://aliexpress.com/item/1005003083972521.html
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ICM-20608.pdf (950.1 KB, 3 views)
lotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2023, 08:19 AM   #18
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
Rather, it is not 12608D, but I2608D aka (INVENSENSE ICM-20608D LGA-16 ACCELEROMETER + GYRO MULTI SENSOR I2608D)

https://aliexpress.com/item/1005003083972521.html
Many thanks mate, the scheme found was just that one, it's likely that the short come from that one?

Seem that the pins 1,9,10,11,12,13,15 and 16 are shorted all together...
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2023, 08:50 AM   #19
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Well, one step more, just removed the IC and the shorts are still present, some smd caps near the IC, C117, C126 ans C128 seems that are shorted, will remove this ones to get some readings
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2023, 03:32 AM   #20
ex250
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
City & State: Pontevedra
My Country: Spain
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 80
Default Re: SDJ01RM vacuum robot not powers on, all dead

Just removed the caps C117, C126 and C128 and they are not shorted, the short is still on the board, any idea about how to trace it?

For future reference: C117: 1,14uF (1uf)
C126 and 128: 110nF (0,1uf)

Last edited by ex250; 02-12-2023 at 03:46 AM.. Reason: adding caps value
ex250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?