Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Appliances and other Household Electronic Stuff
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2022, 04:32 AM   #1
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Full model GC9660/36/BI

Hi all, this iron intermittently not producing steam.

Anyone have experience working on them?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Philips steam iron.jpg (499.6 KB, 6 views)
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2022, 05:07 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

strip it down, you will probably find the steam hose has leaked at one end and caused a shitload of corrosion
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2022, 08:35 AM   #3
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Thanks STJ,will check & report back
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2022, 05:36 AM   #4
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Right so here's what seems to be happening.

When first powered works fine with plenty of steam.

If I, then sit iron back onto its base & pick it at a later time it doesn't steam, but If I power on/off from standby button on base steam is back.
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2022, 06:09 AM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

interesting,
so it has digital control and a standby function - i did not know that.
in that case, how does it know if the iron is on the stand?? or maybe it senses the iron being level vs being vertical or at an angle??
that maybe the problem, it may not know the iron is being picked up and used
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2022, 06:10 AM   #6
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Don't think I had been patient enough for the water to get up to temp, then for solenoid to release.

It does actually seem to work.
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2022, 06:15 AM   #7
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Suspect it goes into a sleep mode, which is why it took a while to fire up when i lifted from base.
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2022, 11:08 AM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

easy way to test for such things, temporarilly connect neon lamps(with built in resistors) across the heaters - then you can see if they are powered
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2022, 07:08 AM   #9
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Thanks again STJ, will do once i can get the thing to fault.
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 04:09 AM   #10
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Strange, seems to be working fine.

Start up as follows

When initially powered on at mains, then standby button on base pressed, 2 quieter relay clicks are audible, then a louder click, which expect is the solenoid.

Element then kicks in to heat water.

during this time standby button LED flashing BLUE.

When then LED stabilizes iron is ready to go, & whenever trigger on iron is pressed there's an audible click, when steam released.

If iron sat on base again, unit goes into a semi sleep mode, whereby standby LED remains BLUE, & will start to flash when iron pick up, then stabilize when ready to go.

If iron left sitting on base for a longer period of time standby light goes out & would need to press button for power.
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 07:34 AM   #11
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

overcomplicated crap!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 08:40 AM   #12
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

In a word Yes
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2022, 05:44 AM   #13
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Some times Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,009
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

I suspect that this is way that it should function because if it is left in the ON position for a very long time it is assumed that it was for gotten and should be really in the OFF position this is done for safety reasons

It probably has a timing circuit that does these functions or it has a micro controller ic chip that does this function
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2022, 09:50 AM   #14
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

when all it needed was a bi-metal switch
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2022, 07:03 AM   #15
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Really appreciate your input guys.

Had been searching for a complex issue where there wasn't one.

After some more investigation have discovered the issue.

The tubing that is a conduit for steam is being pinch when the iron is lifted high, which in turn restricts the flow.


Thinking of fitting some something over the tubing to stop it from being pinched.

Any other ideas welcome.


cable.jpg
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2022, 01:39 PM   #16
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 28,106
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

a spring is the usual method, but it may not work if the hose is weakened at that point
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 10:02 AM   #17
zen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 395
Default Re: GC9660 Philips iron advice please

Found the complete lead from ASWO
zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?