Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dell 2408WFP PSU inductors

Hello all,
    My first post here. I'm just a hobbyist with a basic understanding of electronics.

Been reading a lot about this Dell 2408WFP monitor in various posts on this site and they've been useful.
    I have the same issue with this display that others have experienced in that the display does not turn on after it has been disconnected from power.
    This happened again a few days ago and this time I could not get it back to life, even after repeatedly disconnecting / connecting the power.
    So I opened it up to have a look, especially bad caps. Did not find any though, although still replaced the startup Jamicon caps with Rubycon. No fix.
    Then when checking VCC on the 1203P60 PWM chip I made the same finger slip-up with the probes that others have and shorted pins 3 & 4. BANG!
    Several blown components amongst one is inductor L611. There are no markings of any kind on this component, not on the PCB or on the schematic (which I've included, with a mark for the location of L611).
    Also pictures included of the PCB and the inductor itself.

There are three other inductors on the PCB of identical dimensions. I took L613 off the board to test it, but my component tester sees at as a resistor with a value of about 1 Ohm. The same goes for the (faulty?) L611 which reads a similar resistance.
    So I don't know what the value in Henry is.

Can someone inform what kind of inductor this is and its likely value?
    Just so I know what to order as a replacement.

Many thanks!
    Attached Files

Re: Dell 2408WFP PSU inductors

Forgot to mention.
    The footprint of the inductor is approx 5mm length x 3mm diameter.

Comment

Going to try to answer my own question after doing some further research.