Pioneer PRO-FHD1 Elite Plasma Monitor Start-Up Problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pioneer PRO-FHD1 Elite Plasma Monitor Start-Up Problem

Pioneer Pro-FHD1 Elite. Failure to power on.

I'm new to this awesome forum, and have been reading like mad, but have not seen the answer to my challenge.

We bought this Panasonic plasma monitor 16 years ago and it has never been serviced, so all parts are original, and the unit has never malfunctioned -- until about a month ago. The system fails to power on. At first (a month ago) this happened rarely. We learned to unplug for a few minutes to drain the caps, then re-plug, and the monitor would start normally. Now, we plug-in, turn on the main power switch, and the red "stand-by" light illuminates. When we press the "ON" switch (using the remote control or onboard switch), the blue "Power" light comes on for about 6 seconds (as the screen goes to dark grey, then back to black, with a power board double relay "click" audible). Then there is another single relay "click" and the red "Standby" light flashes 3 times, then pauses about 3 seconds and repeats over and over. The screen stays black.

Now, if we repeat the de-power/re-power process many times, the monitor eventually powers on, and functions normally (beautifully) -- until the system is turned off and cools down for a few minutes. If the monitor is shut-down and restarted while warm, it usually re-starts normally.

All of the caps (except maybe one) on the Power Supply Module look normal, but I suspect that there is a component failure on that board. I have physically plugged/unplugged all of the wire bundles to the Power Supply Module, and tightened the mounting screws. I thought that one 2200 uF 10V cap on the power supply board looked very slightly bulged, so I replaced it, but no change.

The board is labeled as manufactured by SanKen, with a part number sticker showing: AXY1148BE0606008931. Photo attached (I hope)!
    Attached Files