Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vizio VW37 Power Supply PSON working but no 12v or 24v output

Hi everyone,

I am currently in the process of diagnosing and (hopefully) repairing my 37 in Vizio, and could really use some help.

Background:

My friend's Vizio VW37 recently broke (I think it is a few years old), and he told me I could have it. I had already fixed one LCD before (my sisters Samsung, with obviously bad bloated capacitors on the power supply), and was/am feeling confident that I can fix this issue without needing to buy new boards (i.e. a fix done by replacing individual caps/chips instead of just the entire board). I like to think my skill level is decent: I am finishing up my undergrad EE career and plan on getting my masters, I have a well stocked workspace (Weller soldering iron, a shiny new Fluke 115 I just got for my birthday, third hands, hemostats, etc), and I have been soldering and de-soldering various electronics for close to 10 years.

The Problem:

When the TV is plugged in the Vizio logo glows orange. An attempt to turn the TV on (using either the power button or the remote - both "work") will result in a few second delay before the Vizio logo turns white but nothing else happens (no sound, image, etc). A bright light was held up to the screen to see if the pixels were actually changing, in case it was strictly a bad back-light , but no pixels were seen to change. The logo remains white and the TV can be "shut off " normally using the remote or the power button.

My Diagnostics and Fix Attempt:

The first thing I did after I took the back of the TV off was to look for obviously bloated/damaged capacitors, but none were readily apparent. I then used my multimeter to test the voltages the power supply board was giving off. The connector to the main board was correctly giving off 5v at 3 of the pins, but the 12v pins were reading 0v. The 24v pins going to the inverter board were also giving off 0v.