Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Troubleshooting LG Plasma

Hi everyone

I bought a non-working 50" PG Plasma for real cheap, just for some fun and hopefully some learning. My background is technical IT, and in fact it's the first time troubleshooting a TV.

Problem: Power LED turns on, then off after a second or two.

So I've started with identifying and familiarising myself with the boards. Tested PSU OK. Visual inspection for burnt down components, or bulged caps... all looks fine. TV is however very dirty as it was in a restaurant, so it's difficult to identify burnt components.

Since LED turns off after a second, I thought there must be a short circuit somewhere, so I've started disconnecting boards. Power stayed on as soon as I've eliminated the YSUS (EAX64282201).

I couldn't see any fuse on this board so I started testing the mosfets for short to ground. Since I never did it I am not sure if I'm actually testing them correctly.

First of all I only have a DMM. So my first question for you would be: do I have to remove the mosfets out of the circuit to test properly, or can then be tested in circuit?

Thanks

Photo 1
    Photo 2
    Last edited by DanFen; 03-08-2020, 05:49 AM.

Re: Troubleshooting LG Plasma

You will have to remove the board and flip it over to check the igbt's marked with a "Q".
    Check for shorts across any of the 3 legs. If you don't find any, check the buffer boards for shorts. Make sure you have all the screws back in place when you turn it back on.

Comment

There's no "Q" markings anywhere on the board at the connections of the IGBTs or Mosfets.

Is it accurate to test for short circuit while in circuit or do I have to take them out?

Comment

You can test then in circuit. There should not be any continuity between the legs of the igbt's. Can you see what the part number on the board is of this igbt?
        Attached Files

Comment

30F126 is the part number of that particular IGBT.