Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > All Others Motherboards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2020, 02:52 AM   #1
christian0024
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
City & State: manila
My Country: philippine
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Thumbs up Help asrock fm2a55m- vg3 missing 3.3v on ram

Help asrock fm2a55m- vg3 missing 3.3v on ram
Always beeping ram problem
How can jumper the 3.3volts
christian0024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 03:00 AM   #2
dicky96
Badcaps Veteran
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 700
Default Re: Help asrock fm2a55m- vg3 missing 3.3v on ram

That motherboard is DDR3 so Vram is 1.5V not 3.3V

There will be a VRM that generates Vram from some other supply, 5V, 3V or 12V

You need to find that supply, it will probably be near the RAM slots

If you cant' find the source of Vram just by lookihng, you can look up the pinout for DDR 3 sockets and trace it from there or you could trace it from the capacitors on DIMMs.

Bear in mind some of the capacitors on the DIMM will be connected to Vref (0.75V) not Vram and one end of all capacitors will go to ground. You could have a short on Vram to ground also

Rich
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 04:45 AM   #3
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,141
Default Re: Help asrock fm2a55m- vg3 missing 3.3v on ram

There's still a 3.3V power rail going to the RAM to power the I2C ROM for SPD, but it should be directly connected to the main 3V rail.
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #[email protected]
piernov is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 03:27 AM   #4
dicky96
Badcaps Veteran
 
dicky96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Sunny Gran Canaria
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 700
Default Re: Help asrock fm2a55m- vg3 missing 3.3v on ram

This should help

Asrock FM3A55M Boardview
dicky96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?