Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone Experienced with Server 2003 TS & AD ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone Experienced with Server 2003 TS & AD ?

Let me preface this by saying I have very little knowledge when it comes to handling server software and configuration.

I have been thrust into a position with a client that requires me to become more knowledgeable about them, but the learning curve (for me) is very steep.

I am dealing with many years of others "messing about" with 4 servers in a facility that has a VPN over a T1 to a second office 20 miles distant. The servers are Terminal Server (TS) 2003 R2, Active Directory which I am assuming is the Domain Server (Main) 2003, Applications (APP) 2003 R2, and Electronic Records (ER) 2008. All servers are HP Proliants ranging in age from 2-6 years old.

A total of about 25-30 remote clients are on line at any point in the day. They all connect via RDP to the Terminal Server.

The Situation:
    On Wednesday last, the TS unit suffered a hard drive failure. It was -supposed- to be setup as RAID 1, but I came to find out that about 2 years ago, someone had turned that off in BIOS and these drives where not mirrored. Simply running as separate drives. The latest date on the 2nd drive was 2010.

I tried every method I have available to access the 1st drive, but to no avail. A non-recoverable boot sector failure / MBR missing error.

After speaking with a drive recovery service and my client, I cloned the 2nd drive with hardware I have and sent both drives off to the recovery service. They subsequently reported a mechanical failure of the drive and estimated ~$2,500 for recovery over a 10-15 day time. Really not acceptable as this puts us out of service in many ways. They could do it faster but the price doubles as you halve the turnaround times. (Up to $10,000)

The Dilemma: