Vizio e550i-b2 won’t turn on, standby 4.97v

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vizio e550i-b2 won’t turn on, standby 4.97v

Working on a Vizio e550i-b2 tv that won't power on. I have 4.97v standby with or without the main board connected. Based on some (bad) research this led me to replace the main board. Still won't power on. I'm getting 0v at the smaller connector above the larger connector where I measured standby voltage. The smaller connector is marked 28v. Also, there is no white light coming on under the power button. I resoldered the connector between the power board and board next to it (led board I think it's called). This is my first attempt at television repair and would appreciate any help.

Attached Files

Re: Vizio e550i-b2 won't turn on, standby 4.97v

Some power supplies require 0V to bring them out of standby.With the mainboard disconnected use a 1K jumper resistor (or close to that value) connected from standby to ground and check what secondary supplies you have then.
    Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Comment

If you want to check the power supply, disconnect the cable between the power supply and main board, then connect 5VSB to PS-ON, You can use around a 1k resistor

Comment

All I have is a 4.7k resistor. I’ll get a 1k tomorrow and check. Where am I checking for secondary supplies and what will I be looking for. Am I checking voltage at the 28v smaller connector above the large svsb connector? This is all new to me, but I’d like to learn.
        Last edited by Mmatt; 11-30-2020, 10:32 PM.

Comment