Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2021, 05:26 PM   #1
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default I am in need of a 80v buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Can anyone recommend a switching regulator or a buck converter that has these specifications

Input voltage 80 adjustable at least 4 amps or better

Any information would greatly appreciated

Thanks
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-26-2021 at 05:52 PM..
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 12:02 AM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,116
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

What is the highest input Voltage do you need?
Is the 80VDC the minimum input Voltage?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:53 AM   #3
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

From what I have seen when turning the power supply on that this voltage stabilizes at 70 to 75 volts and stay at this level until it is loaded and at 3.5 amps it is about 50 volts or so this is also stable

I would like to have some head room above the maximum voltage that I have seen so far
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 08:57 AM   #4
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Test
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 07:29 PM   #5
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,993
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

What are the specs you are looking for? >80VDC 4A in, 50VDC 4A out?
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 06:18 AM   #6
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
What are the specs you are looking for? >80VDC 4A in, 50VDC 4A out?
I could work with these specifications that you have in your reply

But what I am really interested in is an adjustable output voltage at minimum of 4 amps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-28-2021 at 06:20 AM..
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 10:07 AM   #7
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Would this work

DC-DC Buck Converter Step-Down Power Supply Module in 20-70V Out 2.5-58V 30A

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-DC-Buck-...sAAOSwCi9gBloK

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-28-2021 at 10:08 AM..
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 02:01 PM   #8
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,993
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Is this for powering that big solenoid? Does it have a reverse-diode across it?
The raw DC is from a control transformer feeding a bridge-rectifier with no filter capacitor?
Just trying to get clear on what the load and input power is.

Because any buck-converter will not like input ripple.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 02:39 PM   #9
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
Is this for powering that big solenoid? Does it have a reverse-diode across it?
The raw DC is from a control transformer feeding a bridge-rectifier with no filter capacitor?
Just trying to get clear on what the load and input power is.

Because any buck-converter will not like input ripple.
I basically want to use this to test LED strips and modules and any device that has a voltage above 40 volts

How much filtering capacitors would I need and what type an UF value

I am going to power this device from the ATX switching power supply —> auxiliary power supply board
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 03:01 PM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,386
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

one of the psu makers, i think kunkin makes one that is 5a 120v
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 03:08 PM   #11
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,217
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

https://www.ebay.com/itm/900W-15A-DC.../133612454146?
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 03:17 PM   #12
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
one of the psu makers, i think kunkin makes one that is 5a 120v
Do you have a website link to where you can buy one

I found this and this would work also

https://www.ebay.com/itm/FNIRSI-DC60...kAAOSwF5dfhtrW

The only thing I have to figure out is how to make sure that the incoming voltage does not exceed 70 volts because I was looking earlier for a Zener diode to limit the voltage to 60 to 80 volts and could not find anything I could use

Thanks

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-28-2021 at 03:39 PM..
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 03:20 PM   #13
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Thank you for your website link I am sure that this will work for boost the voltage up but I am looking for buck converter to go from 80 volt to 12 for something lower if possible but I wanting it to be adjustable

I just have to wait until I have some more money to buy one

Hopefully soon

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 02-28-2021 at 03:40 PM..
sam_sam_sam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 12:29 AM   #14
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,116
Default Re: I am in need of a 80 buck converter that is adjustable rated 4 amps or better

Not adjustable but you may be able to modify the feedback circuit.

What is the adjustable range?
https://www.amazon.com/Pro-Chaser-re.../ref=pd_sbs_4?

https://www.amazon.com/High-Voltage-.../ref=pd_sbs_1?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?